No knead to worry!

I’ve been on a bit of a bread making kick this year. Last weekend I made a loaf of white bread (which turned out awesome) and some whole wheat garlic pizza dough (which turned out okay) and this weekend I wanted to make some homemade bread to bring to a friend’s fondue party on Saturday night, but I didn’t necessarily want to spend all day in the kitchen kneading it and waiting for it to rise (and I refuse to buy a bread machine). So I decided to finally try Mark Bittman’s no-knead bread! I had considered making this before but was a bit put off by the 18-hour rising. (I somehow could never do the math to figure out when I needed to start the dough in order to have it out of the oven in time, but on Friday I finally realized that if I started it by 6, I could have it in the oven by 4 on Saturday, and out of the oven and cooling by 5 !) (I am a genius!)

I watched the video and researched a few recipe tweaks before I started, but in the end I decided to just go with the professionals and do it THEIR WAY before making any changes. Halfway through, though, I started to regret this decision when my dough looked like this:

No Knead Bread FAIL. by you.

This recipe is totally crazy in that you mix the flour, salt, yeast, and water together (no proofing the yeast!) and then let it sit (covered) overnight for 12-18 hours. You then transfer it to a floured towel to rise for a couple hours, and then place (pour) the “loaf” into a piping hot cast iron casserole dish and bake it at like 5,000 degrees.

Our house is VERY cold and I thought my dough was a little runny to begin with, so my “dough” didn’t exactly look like everyone else’s. But I kept with it and just decided to bake it up anyway.

No Knead Bread (first attempt) by you.

And it was delicious! Granted, it is not the most attractive looking loaf of bread, but it was so nutty and chewy and the crust was so! crunchy! It was a big hit at our fondue party. I didn’t have time to take a picture after we cut it up into cubes and before I knew it it was all gone (but if you’re really curious, it looked exactly like this)! I’ll definitely make this again! And next time? I wouldn’t even change a thing!

This entry was posted in Baking, Domesticity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to No knead to worry!

  1. Janet says:

    Oh wow!! I’m glad to hear the outcome exceeded your expectations! I might have to try this.

  2. Terri says:

    I am a big bread baker. With four kids I make bread a few times a week. I do use a bread machine for the dough but not the baking. Once the dough is done I shape it and bake it off.

    Everytime $5 not spent on bread is $5 in the yarn column.

  3. Terri says:

    I am a big bread baker. With four kids I make bread a few times a week. I do use a bread machine for the dough but not the baking. Once the dough is done I shape it and bake it off.

    Every $5 not spent on bread is $5 in the yarn column.

  4. michelle says:

    I tried this once & ended up throwing the whole thing, including the towel I was supposed to be “turning the dough off of” into the garbage. It was so runny it could not be worked the way the recipe said to… I thought maybe I did something wrong. Maybe I’ll try it again, ’cause everyone seems to love it. *shrug*

  5. mike says:

    wow that looks great. i love fresh bread so much, but am intimidated about baking it. is there a beginner’s guide you used?

  6. Claudia says:

    I have been making no-knead bread, too. Try this one:

    3 cups bread flour
    1 pkg. rapid rise yeast
    1 tsp salt
    1.5 cups water
    Extra virgin olive oil-1 to 2 Tablespoons

    Mix all together and let rise 4 hours in a covered bowl. Turn out on oiled surface and cover and let rest 30 minutes. At the same time, preheat oven to 450 degrees and put cast iron or ceramic pot in oven while it preheats. Place bread in hot pan and bake covered 30 minutes. Uncover and bake another 20 minutes or until browned. DELICIOUS!! You can add herbs–rosemary is wonderful–and/or cheese and salami’s. You can also adjust the flour to 2 cups bread flour, 1 cup whole wheat or 1/2 cups whole wheat and 1/2 cup rye. Throw in some flax seed and oatmeal. Yummy.

    Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

