Serendipity

My good friend was recently pregnant and due around Memorial Day weekend. I was originally planning on giving her her baby gift in person when I was back home visiting this summer, but at the last minute I changed my mind and thought it would be nice if the bear was at home in the crib, waiting for the little one when (s)he arrived home from the hospital. I ran over the post office just before it closed on Saturday and arranged for it to be delivered today.

(I have since re-stitched the eyes...)

My friend was due on Sunday, but I was sure she’d go late since it was her first child! But I was wrong. Apparently she texted me a photo of the baby on Sunday morning but since I have a first-generation iPhone, I’m unable to send or receive picture texts, and so I was totally oblivious of what was going on (!!!!) until I got a voicemail message from her Monday night giving me the good news. She promised to call back today so we could talk in person and just after she called me this morning, her doorbell rang. I thought maybe it was neighbors or friends stopping by to see the baby, but it was the post office delivering my gift! She opened it on the phone and really gushed over and appreciated my handiwork. Aw. I was so, so happy that she was able to open it with me on the phone, and the serendipity of it all reminded me of the time when I moved away from the midwest in 2001 and we hugged right before I got in my car to leave (she’s not a hugger). I was feeling a little verklempt, but I managed to keep it together until I got in my car, turned the key, and James Taylor’s “You’ve got a Friend” came on the radio. And I became a soggy mess. I’ll now always think of her when I hear that song. And now, I have a new little friend too. :) Welcome to the world, Ada Jane!

This entry was posted in FOs, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Serendipity

  1. jaruuds says:

    Yay! I’m glad she liked it so much (though how could she not?)!

Leave a Reply

