Happy New Year

So I’ve been thinking more about why I wanted to start this blog (I really feel the need to justify myself!) and I think it’s because I have such a crappy memory – I want to be able to remember all the little stuff that happens everyday. But I’ve NEVER been one to keep a journal (or at least stick with it), and now to think that I’m going to try this publicly is a little intimidating. (I think I overthink things.) Also, I’m worried (having just gotten hooked onto Dooce’s blog (the first person ever to be fired for slanderous blog musings)) that I’ll bitch about someone at work, and end up getting fired for it. So I’m going to try and not even go there and keep this about knitting, friends, family, and everyday weird shit. (I swear a lot, so I’m going to work on curbing that too.)

So Happy New Year! I had a CRAZY 2006 (one of my resolutions last year was to travel more – and immediately I spent a month in Puerto Rico for work, then I was in Rhode Island, California, Colorado (all for work, many, many times) and then back to Chicago (several times), Hawaii, and even managed to do a little exploring on the Olympic Peninsula). This year promises to involve even MORE work travel, so I am going to make a concerted effort to keep in touch with those I love AND take more awesome personal vacations.

I posted TONS of photos on Flickr last year (after having lost all our digiphotos in December of 2005) and I figured I’d take a second to share some of my favorites….

Playing in the ocean in Puerto Rico:

Celebrating my bday at Sunset Lanes:

Kickin’ it with Mark and Bryan on St Paddy’s Day:

Hanging out with Brian, Van, and Trevor at some rip-off Cha Cha Lounge in LA:

Witnessing the marriage of our good friends Mark and Heather:

Spending a very relaxing, romantic getaway on the Olympic Peninsula with T:

Going to the Bears/Seahawks Game at Soldier Field with Tom and Michelle (and watching the Seahawks get their asses kicked):

Flying over a volcano in Hawaii!:

…And much more!!!! Here’s hoping for a healthy, relaxing, prosperous, and exciting New Year!

This entry was posted in Friends, Photos, Random Memories. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy New Year

  1. mike says:

    cha cha lounge is cool. i like photo posts. do you read my blog ever? it’s lithboy.livejournal.com . you can only read the private posts if you join livejournal, and i friend you. it takes 12.7 seconds. bye bye.

  2. funessa says:

    aw you’re so sweet! thanks for re-commenting.

  3. Rich says:

    Hi Ness:
    You can do this blog thing. I could write a long list of encomiums to support your efforts here, but that’s not really necessary. You’re a very good writer and a very dedicated worker, so let us read what interests you.

Leave a Reply

