Family history

My uncle randomly sent me this bit of family history in an email this morning and I thought I’d post it here. Not to get too heavy, but my paternal grandfather suffered a stroke the year I was born and then passed away when I was still really little, so I never knew him.  So I really appreciated getting this (I never knew when we immigrated!).

“Born Gabriel Robert Mateyko, in high school he shortened it to G. Robert Mateyko and later his signature became Robert G. Mateyko.  His father and mother came to our great Country between 1910 and 1911. Dad was born in 1914, attended grade school which was taught in English. After school, he would do his homework and then teach his parents the English words he learned that day. When he learned to read, he used the Sears, Roebuck & Co. catalog as a guide for his parents. It not only had many new words, but pictures of items offered for sale as well as the cost so they could immediately grasp how much work would be required to obtain that item. I am sure my father was not the only child who taught their parents our Country’s language.”

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Family history

  1. Janet says:

    Very cool – what nationality was he?

    I’m in the process of trying to “casually” go through both my parents’ genealogy right now — it’s super interesting to me. I’ve resolved some unanswered questions . . . some family mysteries. Knowing “more” can often open up a can of worms!

  2. Vanessa says:

    I always say he was Czechoslovakian, but I’m not sure what the actual name of the country was when they left (Hungary, Austria, Austria-Hungary, Czechoslovakia…?).

  3. Rich says:

    Hi Ness:
    All four of my grandparents came here from what was then known as Austria-Hungary. It later became Czechoslovakia. I don’t know what it is called now, since I don’t have any city names except for one and I can say it but I can’t spell it in English, much less in Czech.
    Dad

Leave a Reply

