Work meme

I recently wrote an “About Me” page for this blog, and it was surprisingly hard to write. I don’t know why, but it took me a few weeks to finally get something down that I liked. I just didn’t know what to write about in the blurb.

But then this morning I got tapped to fill out a “staff survey” for my department, and I filled it out in half an hour! I had so much fun with it I figured I’d post it here. (I guess it’s like a “meme” for work?)

(Some entries have been edited.)

What was the funniest / most embarrassing thing to happen to you at XXXXX?

A couple of years ago I was doing some spring cleaning at home and I found some old (but still new) deodorant I had never used. I decided to offer it up on the bulletin board at work, since it was still new, and I didn’t want to just throw it away! I actually got a lot of responses (it was gone in an hour!), but I got a lot of flack for it too. Jeremy was working down at XXXXX at the time (with T) and he teased me that I’d really let myself go now that T was out of town, since I was selling all my toiletries on the black market.

What has been the most memorable thing to happen to you at XXXXX so far?

I met my boyfriend here. J

What do you enjoy most about your job?

I learn something new every day.

What can you tell us about yourself, your family, pets, etc.?

lounging picture perfect Carry on luggage

I live with the cutest and most spoiled cat, Trixie. Her personality is larger-than-life.

I also live in a “charming” old house in Edmonds. The location is great, but the house needs a lot of work. Luckily, I live with a guy who could have been born 100 years ago…. he’s very industrious. I’ve learned a lot about home improvement in the past couple of years! So far I’ve helped remodel a kitchen, a bathroom, and I even helped build a deck. Next steps will probably involve building a fence and landscaping the yard.

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in the Chicago suburbs and then went to school at DePaul in Chicago. I lived in Madison, WI for nearly a year before finally moving out to Seattle. I’ve been out here since 2001 and I love it!

What is your favorite TV show, movie, and/or books?

I could sit and watch REALLY bad TV for hours, so I try to curb my intake. I have recently gotten hooked on “Veronica Mars” and I also love watching “What Not To Wear” on TLC. I don’t really have a favorite movie or book (my tastes are all over the map). Right now I’m listening to Anna Karenina, though, and it’s fascinating.

What are your hobbies?

Knitting, reading, and napping. Sometimes cooking and baking, but usually just for special occasions. Also hiking, camping, canoeing, and hopefully, some day, jogging and backpacking. And photography.

What are your favorite foods?

I love Thai, Indian, and Middle Eastern cuisine.

What was your best vacation? / What would be your ideal vacation?

My best vacations so far have been on the Oregon Coast and Olympic Peninsula. Something about being near the ocean takes my mind off of everything. I also really enjoyed hanging out on Flamenco Beach in Culebra, Puerto Rico for 3 days last January. It was soooo relaxing.

IMGP0836~.JPG IMGP0929~.JPG Culebra, Puerto Rico (i.e., Paradise)

My ideal vacation would probably be one in which I could hang out on the beach and relax, but also visit some historical sites. I would love to see Machu Picchu and Chichén Itzá. I’d also love to see Greece and Italy. And Alaska.

Who makes you laugh more than any other person in the world?

Wow this is a hard one. A lot of people make me laugh. I try not to take things too seriously.

If money were no object, what one luxury would you indulge for yourself?

A personal jet? A cabin in the woods? My own private island? These all sound good to me.

Tell us about something you want to do or accomplish in your life?

Learn (better) Spanish, learn how to play guitar, and maybe one day become a Master Knitter. And see all 50 states.

 

Now it’s your turn. Please post your answers to the survey in the comments!

This entry was posted in Me. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Work meme

  1. Rich says:

    Funniest thing at work: One evening a passenger walked up to me as I was standing my my X ray machine in Terminal 2 at O’Hare. He asked, “What’s the fastest way to get to Terminal 3?”. “Run”, was my reply. He cracked up. My boss tried to give the guy directions, but the guy was laughing too hard to listen. I explained to my boss that the guy didn’t ask for directions, just the fastest way.

    Most memorable thing at work: One Friday evening as I was standing by my X ray machine in Terminal 3, a male passenger, who was about to enter the passenger screening area, asked me if I wanted a pocket knife, because he had forgotten to pack his and he didn’t want to simply throw it away. I asked where he lives and he said that he lives in the Chicago suburbs. I then asked when he’d be returning, and he told me that he’d be back on Monday at around 6:00 p.m. I told him I’d be working at that time and would be at the same X ray machine and that I’d be happy to hold the knife for him over the weekend. He came back on Monday evening and found me. I handed him the knife. He thanked my profusely because the knife had been a Christmas gift from his two little boys.

    Enjoy most about my job: At times it’s like the lyrics from that old 1950’s song: “Standing on the corner, watching all the girls go by”. Especially during spring break. Hey, guess what! It’s spring break right now.

    Tell about myself, my family and my pets: I’m an amateur tuba player. I raised my son and my daughter from the time they were 10 and 8 years old, respectively. They both spent a lot of time in school and no time in jail, so I think I did a good job with that. I had a pet dog for a while when I was a kid. Also a pet bird. Dog ran away, bird died. I find that annual plants work better for me.

    Where did I grow up?: I’m a 63 year old guy. Getting old is inevitable, growing up isn’t . Ever hear of Peter Pan? I was raised in Calumet City, Illinois. It wasn’t until I got into grad. school at Indiana University that I’d met someone who didn’t know where and what Calumet City was. I’d tell my fellow grad students to ask their parent’s. They all came back to me and said that their parent’s knew about Calumet City.

    Favorite TV show, movie, book: I like the Paul Newman “H” movies:
    Hud, Harper, Hombre, The Hustler. Classic westerns from John Wayne up to and including Clint Eastwood. I like Robert B. Parker’s “Spenser” novels, especially the lines of dialogue ascribed to Spenser’s sidekick, Hawk.

    Hobbies: My motorized two wheel vehicles, when they run, my 21 speed bike, my 3 tubas, reading and watching movies.

    Favorite food: My mother makes the world’s greatest stuffed cabbage and stuffed peppers. Her secret? Ground beef, ground pork, ground veal in the recipes.

    My best vacation: The first time I went to visit my friend Mark in Florida. It was a rough time in my life and when I got to Mark’s house, we just sat in the front yard and had a drink or two and talked. It was absolutely theraputic.

    Ideal vacation: Lie on the beach in Tahiti for a week or two, or until somebody tries to push me into the ocean, thinking I’m a beached whale.

    Who makes me laugh more than any other person in the world?: My old friend, Flint, and I used to do some pretty funny two man improvistional stuff while riding in cars. Side splitting was almost achieved. As far as professional comedians go, Lenny Bruce is followed closely by Carl Reiner and Mel Brooks in their 2000 yr. old man routines.

    If money were no object: A real vacation to someplace where I don’t stay in the home of relatives or friends. Then buy a motorcycle that will run for more than 50 miles before it shuts down.

    Something I’d like to do in life: Learn to read and play music the way it is written, without having to have someone else sound out the rhythm for me.

    Dad

Leave a Reply

