my stash

We rearranged the furniture in our house last weekend, and “yarn stash organization” was one of the HUGE improvements that resulted from that effort. (That “2-day effort,” mind you. We moved our bedroom into the den, and vice versa.) We had had our bedroom in the “den” because it was the smaller room (and we spend less time in there than we do the den), but then we realized we could actually fit more furniture in that smaller room because it has more available wall space, so we switched! Now we’re finally sleeping in the master bedroom (with the bigger closet! and veranda!) and we can fit a futon in the den/guest room. (Yay!) Also, I was finally able to organize my yarn into my knitting bookcase, and now it’s all filed away into cute little Rubbermaid bins!

Here are some photos of the rest of the room. (If the walls look incredibly bare to you… bear with me. We’ll be hanging art work soon.)

den

desk

I cannot express how happy this new arrangement makes me. I love that the desk is still by a window… I love that we FINALLY have a place for our guests to sleep (complete with their own TV), and I LOVE that we are one step closer to getting all our clothes in one room (we still keep half our clothes and shoes in a different closet). It’s like we finally figured out how to make the most of the limited space we have, and it’s finally starting to feel like a home (after almost 4 years). I think this new arrangement, coupled with the new wood doors T installed for my bday make it feel more like a HOUSE and less like a dark old cabin.

I’ll post photos of the bedroom once we figure out what we’re doing with the furniture in there.

This entry was posted in House, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to my stash

  1. Janet says:

    It’s BEAUTIFUL and really looks like the whole place cozy and comfy.

  2. Rich says:

    I’ll post photos of the bedroom once we figure out what we’re doing in there.
    What does this mean?

  3. funessa says:

    Once we figure out what we’re doing WITH THE FURNITURE in there. I’ll correct the post…

  4. mike says:

    looks great.

    hey in sf, there is no storage space as you are well aware. our current apartment is 750 sq ft. anyway, we have used all available storage space under the couch, bed, above/alongside the fridge, even a chair. the FURNACE CLOSET is where i store my toolbox, and all available CUBIC inches of the office’s closet are used by way of physical tetris.

    to see some devoting a closet to solely to yarn hurts me.

Leave a Reply

