The evolution of an idea

The other day I was browsing one of my new favorite blogs (that I found through one of my other favorite blogs) and I came across these lounge pants.

amybutler-lounge-pants.jpg

They’re made with Amy Butler fabrics and I just LOVE them. I don’t need any more lounge pants, but I could not get the idea out of my head all day on Friday. Those big lotus flowers on that black background? Love. And that contrasting polka dot border that’s so unexpected and yet compliments the main fabric beautifully? Love that, too.

Then, and I don’t really know how to describe this, becuase I really didn’t THINK of it… it was more like it just appeared to me while I was driving home… I started envisioning a simple summer dress with the big black lotus print, and then a contrasting border with the green and yellow polka dots. I went home and sketched out some ideas…

strapless halter

This morning I edited them using Irfanview and Paint (I have Photoshop Elements at home but have yet to learn how to use it!) and came up with this…

dress

I did some quick Googling this morning and I found some cute strapless and halter dress patterns. I think I just made myself some weekend plans!

This entry was posted in Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The evolution of an idea

  1. juicefairy says:

    Great fabric! You should keep us updated on your summer dress. It looks pretty cute (as do those lounge pants).
    Thanks for the comment by the way. I am enjoying my new hobby very much. I have my first group session in a couple of weeks!

  2. Nora says:

    You are an absolute genius!! Have you seen the dresses on Amy Butler’s site? Btw, would you mind if I linked to this in the next week or so?

Leave a Reply

