Got gauge?

I recently finished a knit for the first time in MONTHS and it was so addicting I decided to go ahead and finish another one! So I dug into my PILE of WIPs (really, I have 7) and finished up this baby hat last night.

I started this some time last year, and really, I am embarassed that it took me almost a year to finish. But once I cast off and pulled it off the needles, I realized why I had put it down in the first place.

This was supposed to be a BABY'S HAT!!!!

It’s huge! And it’s for a baby. I had even checked gauge and everything, but obviously I have no concept of how large (or small) baby’s heads are. (I knitted it from the top down and could not figure out when to stop increasing apparently…. and I think once I realized it was going to be ginormous, I just set it down until I had forgotten about the whole sordid mess in the first place.)

I think I was soured by my first string of baby hats that were so small they could barely fit a Cupie Doll*. So now the pendulum has swung far the other way and I knit baby hats that so big, they won’t fit them the intended recipients until they start college. Ah well. This will likely be donated to a local children’s hospital as I’ve had several people in my life whose little ones have had to spend some time there. Hopefully this hat will provide some comic relief to someone in need.

Next up, I’m going to cast on for a new project (while diligently knitting away on my Jaywalkers) and make T some fingerless gloves I’ve been promising him (like, since last year). Technically, this is not a new knit, it’s a re-knit. But the first one I knit was so damn big I don’t think it could even fit Sasquatch, so at this point I have to frog the whole thing and start over, and for me, it’ s just better to think of it as a new beginning! Hopefully I’ll check my gauge this time and get it right!

fingerless gloves - who would these fit??
(Fingerless gloves obviously too big when they are longer than entire finger.) (Band-aid is from this accident.)

*How is this not in Wikipedia????

This entry was posted in FOs, Knitting, WIPs. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Got gauge?

  1. Janet says:

    I LOVE the elf hat. 🙂

    Oh and here’s where I reveal that . . . I’m SO old

  2. Rich says:

    Have you ever thought of Kewpie Doll?
    Dad

  3. Bryan says:

    So Im a big fan of the color choice. I think I could possibly fit my bulbous head into that…wanna see me do it?

Leave a Reply

