Fingerless fly fishing gloves

I am finally close to finishing T’s “fingerless” gloves! I had intended on finishing these on April 20, the start of some kind of fishing season, but I am a S-L-O-W knitter, and let’s just say good things come to those who wait. 🙂

I actually started these last winter, but I was modifying a pattern and using different yarn with smaller needles and I didn’t count my stitches correctly (how I can call myself a knitter sometimes I do not know) and my first glove ended up HUGE. This put me off for a couple months until I finally dragged the sorry glove to my LYS and asked them to help me. I explained my predicament to the shop owner, and she originally thought my problem might be that my row gauge was off (in that my rows were knitting up taller than the pattern), but once she counted my stitches, she realized I only had 6 sts/in instead of the 7 like I thought, and we realized that must have accounted for the huge sizing. (I love simple solutions like that!) So I cast on that night with the new gauge, and they looked PERFECT with the new sizing.

Here’s the other glove (the flash went off on this one so the color is not accurate – it’s HARD taking photos of your hands in the car, while wearing the gloves you’re working on!):

Right glove

This one is actually almost done …  T originally said he wanted fingerless gloves, but then he tried them on and did some “simulated fly fishing movements” and decided he only needs the first 3 fingers (thumb, index, middle) to be fingerless, and so the ring and pinky fingers are full fingers. I just have to finish the middle finger and cast off the thumb on this one and I’ll be done! Then I just have to do the “fingerless” fingers on the other glove and this will be another FO! Woot woot!

This entry was posted in Knitting, WIPs. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fingerless fly fishing gloves

  1. Janet says:

    But they’re “fingerfull” gloves! 🙂

    They’re LOVELY! I love the yarn and you can actually see a slight halo in the photo. PERFECT!

  2. Katherine says:

    Do you have a pattern for this? I’m wanting to make gloves, two at a time, cuff down, magic-loop style. Yeah, I’m crazy like that.

  3. Dad says:

    Hi Ness:
    Is that your paycheck or Tim’s in the background? Nice scale.
    Dad

  4. funessa says:

    hahaha. I wish! We were looking at houses and that was one of the flyers.

  5. Elizabeth Aragon says:

    I am really impressed with your fingerless gloves. My husband is a fly fisherman also and I have been looking for a pattern to knit him fingerless gloves. Would you be willing to share your pattern or refer me to a source for the pattern? Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

