Road trip

We decided to take an impromptu road trip down to Hood River, OR this weekend to check out the brewery down there (what better reason to travel 300 miles than to drink some free beer?) and maybe do a little wine tasting and check out an alpaca farm. The brewery and winery tours didn’t happen (I was bummed) but we DID make it out to an alpaca farm on Saturday (15 mintues before they closed).

These are some photos I quickly snapped from the car, before rushing in and checking out all the alpaca yarn.

Alpacas!

Zoom: Serious alpaca cuteness
alpaca-sm.jpg

Alpacas

I didn’t get any photos inside the store, but I should have. It was wall-to-wall full of alpaca yarns, a few of which were spun from the alpacas raised on the farm. The owner was super helpful and courteous and even gave us a demonstration of how they spin the yarn out of the roving. Then T chatted him up a bit while I fondled all the yarns. Turns out the guy was originally from Seattle and eventually got sick of the “daily grind” and decided to move down to Oregon and run an alpaca farm. Hmmm… sounds familiar.

His son was working there too, and he showed me some hats he designed for all his ski buddies using the alpaca yarn from their farm. I bought 2 skeins of that (and got a free hat pattern)!

Note: They list the alpaca’s name on the yarn instead of the dye lot. How cute is that??? The guy said some customers even come in specifically requesting yarn from a certain alpaca. Me, I like Heather Grey’s work.

Alpaca yarn

(Here’s Trixie inspecting the yarn…. I included this photo for scale… yah, that’s it…)

Yarn inspection

And I also picked up this big ol’ hank because the guy basically talked me into it. It’s not from their farm, but it’s 600gm of undyed alpaca yarn for $20! You could knit a sweater in a hank and a half. I really don’t want to knit an alpaca sweater, but I do want to try and dye my own yarn, so I picked up a hank. Maybe it will become gloves… or a scarf?

600g of alpaca yarn for $20

Here’s a close-up. Mmmm… soooo soft.

Photos from the rest of our trip are available here:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/club510/sets/72157600311670765/show/

This entry was posted in Knitting, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Road trip

  1. Kari says:

    It sounds like ‘hack’. Or hankee. Nice work though.

  2. Gramma says:

    Nessie: you did such a beautiful job on those sox. I thought I was really giving you something when I gave you those socks that I knitted and when I see what you are doing with your knitting knowledge, I am so proud of you. Don’t know how you find time for everything you are doing.Keep it up, you’ll never be in want of nothing to do. Love U.

Leave a Reply

