My Second Sock Syndrome

Nooooo, I don’t have that type of SSS…. Mine’s different. I have no trouble casting on for the second sock. I cast this one on as soon as I slid that first, toasty, completed sock onto my foot.

My problem really boils down to arrogance. I get cocky and I don’t pay attention! Within 10 rows of the second sock, I had already screwed up twice. I messed up the ribbing AND the pattern. I get it into my head that Hey, I can do this, and then I just stop referring to the pattern. But it’s worse than that, because even when I pay attention to the pattern, I still just somehow, inevitably mess things up. And then I have to rip everything out and start over again……

That's better!

Last night Janelle and I met up for a knit date and I made some significant progress on this sock. I had 4 inches left to go, and I’m trying to finish them by Wednesday so I can show them off at SNB, so I figured I could do 2 inches tonight and 2 at SNB tomorrow (toe decreases and grafting). Then, this morning, I was knitting in the car on the way to work (while carpooling… not driving!) and I noticed I didn’t have enough sts on one section. So I did some shoddy increases and thought that would fix things. Few rows later, nope, still not enough stitches. So I put it down and figure I’d fix it later. Then I pulled it out at lunch and in a fit of desperation and frustration, I frogged 6 rows. Just at that point one of my coworkers walked into the break room and yelled, “Uh oh! I know what that is!” when she saw the heap of crimped yarn on the table…. Luckily I was able to get it back on the needles quickly, but I’m still not back to where I was. Sigh.

I think what most frustrates me is that I also get “Second Sock Syndrome” with my cooking. I find that I can totally wing something one night and it turns out awesome (my recent chocolate-chip-coconut-banana-bread, for example), and then a few weeks later I’ll either make it the EXACT SAME WAY, or I’ll try and wing it again, and it just won’t be as good. I don’t get it. But at least, with knitting, I can go back and fix it.

This entry was posted in Knitting, WIPs. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Second Sock Syndrome

  1. Dad says:

    Lay on, Macduff.

    This catchphrase is a famous quote from the last scene of Macbeth, when Macbeth and his nemesis Macduff are in battle together. Macduff gives Macbeth the opportunity to yield, but Macbeth refuses, saying “I will not yield,/To kiss the ground before young Malcolm’s feet,/….I will try to the last. Before my body/I throw my warlike shield. Lay on, Macduff;/And damned be him that first cries, ‘Hold, enough!'” (Macbeth V viii), immediately after which Macbeth is slain

  2. Kate says:

    It’s cool to see how other people knit socks. I see you’re using 2 circs. So cool. 🙂

  3. Vanessa says:

    MacBeth also said…
    Tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow
    Creeps in this petty pace from day to day
    To the last syllable of recorded time;
    And all our yesterdays have lighted fools the way to dusty death
    Out, out, brief candle
    Life is but a walking shadow, a poor player,
    That struts and frets his hour upon the stage
    And then is heard no more.
    It is a tale told by an idiot, full of sound and fury,
    Signifying nothing.
    (Act V, Sc. V)

Leave a Reply

