How to annoy me

I flew down to Southern California this morning for work and I specifically took the earliest flight possible* because it’s usually just full of business types who pretty much stick to themselves. Or so I thought. I got stuck by this guy who…

– Talked to me all while I was knitting the intricate part of the pattern (I lost my place).
– Stole my armrest (if you have to sit in the middle seat, you’re entitled to BOTH armrests, people!) so he could play SOLITAIRE!!! (Here I am making something and he’s stealing my armrest to play a game!!!)
– Complained about how unfair it was that I could bring my knitting needles on board and he couldn’t bring his lighter (i.e., incendiary device!!). I have 2 words for you: What-ever.

Other than that, the rest of the flight was pretty uneventful. I broke my resolve and cast on for a new project and actually made some significant progress (woot woot!). (I couldn’t finish T’s gloves without him, so I don’t feel too bad about starting a new project.) I’m here all week, so hopefully I’ll get some good knitting time in.

 *Correction: I just found out from a coworker that there was a 6:50AM flight too. But that would’ve meant I would’ve had to be at the airport around 5. And for me, there’s only one 5:00 in my day, and it’s PM. 🙂

This entry was posted in Daily, Knitting, Ugg. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to annoy me

  1. Janet says:

    Yikes! What an annoying seatmate. It’s not like he can light up on a plane so why would he possibly NEED a lighter?

    Now – DPNs — those are a NEED! 😉

  2. Rich says:

    I’ve had a woman complain to me that she couldn’t take her lipstick on the plane. This was before the 311 rule. She was flying from ORD to CLE. I asked her what she was going to be doing on a 45 minute flight, with no food service, that she was going to need to touch up her lipstick. She had now answer for that one.
    You should have put your knitting needle in that guys wrist while he was playing solitaire. What was he going to do, set your knitting on fire? That’s why we keep lighters off the plane. Well, there’s also the IATA regulation covering the transport of hazardous materials by air transport.
    Dad

Leave a Reply

