Calling all knitters – please help!

I’ve got some weird bumps (gaps?) in my stockinette and I cannot figure out how they got there or how to fix them!!! They’re not too noticeable on the right side, but you can definitely tell there’s something funky going on on the wrong side. (Just FYI, I’ve already tried ripping back and picking up any stitches I may have dropped, and I honestly don’t think that’s the issue… So I’d appreciate all the help I can get!)

Here’s a photo of the right side – again, the mishaps aren’t TOO noticeable, but still, I know they’re there and I want them GONE:
Right side - what is going on???

Here’s a photo of the wrong side – definitely more visible now… maybe this will provide a clue as to what’s going on?
Wrong side

Thank you in advance!!!

Update: I found out through the Crazy For Knitting Flickr group that these are the result of uneven tension (probably from when I ripped back 4 rows TWICE, or it could have been just from putting the project down and picking it up later). But the good news is, it can be fixed either with a crochet hook, or through blocking.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Calling all knitters – please help!

  1. Janet says:

    It’s good to know though, right? Much easier to fix than if you had to rip out and start over completely.

  2. Kate says:

    Tension was going to be my guess too. Some yarns let you get away with it, but it seems the more stretchy the yarn (like cotton) the more it shows. I’m interested in how to fix this little annoyance too!

  3. Nora says:

    Yep, it’s tension. I just iron it out prior to seaming – steam press on the wrong side over a pillowcase.

Leave a Reply

