Mystery Solved

I think I figured out what happened to my Busted Root(TM)! The yarn released A LOT of dye into the wash (which I’ve heard is common – it’s even printed on the label (which I didn’t read until after this whole incident!)) and then I didn’t even stop to rinse it, because the bottle of Soak says you don’t have to. Then I gently squeezed out the excess water, rolled it in a towell, and set it in the sun, and I think THAT set the dye into the yarn!!! Here’s the aftermath:

Busted

Can you see it?

This is after a second washing, and while it doesn’t look THAT noticeable in the photo, there are still streaks on the sleeves and seams from where I think the dye was rolled out in the towel.

At first I was just going to dye the whole thing, but I don’t think that will help either, because the darker part will just get darker.

So. At this point I’m going to have to call the whole project a bust and cast on another one (which I’m determined to do — because I really do love this sweater).

[Update: I was able to save it! See here (scroll down).]

After blocking and seaming

In the meantime, though, I cast on for some Monkeys because I wanted some (almost) instant gratification. This is my progress after being a total vidiot* this weekend:

Monkey!

I’d like for you to think I’m a super speedy knitter… but I’m not. This is after watching 4 episodes of Veronica Mars, an entire season of My Boys, and half of Igby Goes Down.

I had originally started out on 2 circs, but the one needle was SO PAINFUL that I developed a painful sore on my left ring finger. I switched to DPNs halfway through, and they were not only gentler on my fingers, but they help me keep my place better in the pattern. I just might be a DPN convert after all.

*Vidiot: A term my father made up for someone who keeps their face glued to the TV.

This entry was posted in FOs, Knitting, WIPs. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mystery Solved

  1. Kate says:

    Wow it still looks really great! I know the second attempt will be great, but I don’t think you’re totally out of luck with this one. Wash it a few more times and see how it happens.

    Love the term Vidiot. 🙂

  2. Janet says:

    Ahhh . . . I love your attitude! 🙂

    I was a total vidiot this weekend also, but WAAAY too ashamed to tell you what I watched! LOL!

  3. Nora says:

    Oh, no! It’s still gorgeous though…

    I see you’ve mastered the monkey too… 🙂

  4. Rich says:

    I didn’t coin the term “vidiot”. I simply used it when appropriate.
    Dad

  5. Rich says:

    Ness, that sweater looks great. You should be able to wear it on occassions when fashion is not of the utmost importance: camping, yardwork, housework, etc. You put a lot of work into this project and it would be a shame to see it lain aside.
    Dad

  6. Nora says:

    I came here (again) to email my mum a link to your RR and just saw your dad’s comments. How cool – and his suggestions make perfect sense – ok, maybe the yardwork is taking things a little far… 🙂

  7. stella says:

    if it happened to me it would make me want to throw it in the corner and cry, congrats on the yarnivale post, and keep monkeying along …

  8. Pingback: You do it to yourself, you do « V’s Blog

Leave a Reply

