Ultimate Camping List

We’re going camping this weekend to Mt. Rainier (and then to the Morton Loggers Jubilee on Sunday – woot woot!) and as much as I LOVE camping, I HATE packing!!! I totally freeze up and cannot focus on what we need to pack. I realized a couple of camping trips ago that what I needed was a LIST. So I came up with this and put it on Google Docs (so I will (hopefully) never lose it) and it really has made packing easier. I check off what I’ve packed and T and I both go through it before we go (so we don’t forget the coffee EVER again!).

I figured I’d post if here, for your edification. Please feel free to email me any suggestions!

Necessities:
tent
sleeping bag
air mattress / air pump
pillows
tarp / rope
cooler / ice
lantern / head lamp / flashlights
JetBoil
french press
stove / fuel
Sun Shower (TM)
camping chairs

Cat
put food & water out

Cooking & Eating

pot / saucepan
Nalgene
mug w/ lid
plates / utensils
cooking utensils (spatula, tongs)
grill grate for campfire
leather fire mitt
aluminum foil
paper towels
dish soap / scrubber
ziploc bags
cutting board

Personal Necessities:
toilet paper
shovel
knife
lighter

Food & Drinks*:
coffee / coffee maker
orange juice
water
creamer
beer / booze / pop (fyi, beer + Squirt (Squeer) is like the. best. ever. Just sayin’.)
white wine / lemons / 7-Up for wine spritzers
Baileys
snacks (Mrs. May’s almonds, dried fruits, Kashi bars, chips & salsa)
Jiffy Pop
S’mores!!

Clothing:
fleece
rain coat
bandana
socks / undies
boots / sandals
gloves / hat
long underwear
thick socks
baseball hat / fishing hat

Personal:
toothbrush / toothpaste
deodorant
face wash
hair rubberbands
sunglasses
sunscreen / bug screen

Extras:
iPod / iPod player
cards / poker chips
Scrabble
knitting
books / magazines
camera (& batteries & memory card!!!)
bathing suit / towels

*I keep this vague, as we handle menu planning on another list. Campfire Cuisine and the Totally Camping Cookbook are both really great and go beyond just hamburgers & hot dogs (like: Flank Steak w/ 5-spice rub, black bean salad, and s’mordillas!).

This entry was posted in Domesticity. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ultimate Camping List

  1. Laura says:

    Ummm Hello……where is the Jiffy Pop and the booze?

  2. Bryan says:

    Just thought Id mention that I am completley exhausted by your “camping list” and would like to pass out now!!!

  3. Rich says:

    Tim let you pack? I remember when you and John and I went to Florida in the 1985 Cadillac Seville, and John and I each took one suitcase. The remainder of the room in that bustle back trunk was filled with your stuff!!! Did you go camping in a U-Haul truck? Seriously, Ness, I hope that you and Tim had a good time camping.
    Dad

  4. DIANE says:

    Ya packing for camping in a rustic cabin instead of tent

    I did tent camping when i was a kid and teenager now

    I am a lot older and my kids are teens .

    What do I bring we are going to the shoreline we are staying in the woods but in a campGROUND

    I have been camping about five or six times in my life
    stayed in different types of campgrounds

    KoA’s with my mom and dad
    Yogi bear in florida mom and dad We were the only tent it was more of an RV park hot no cover but we were gone
    in disney world mostly exept I fell asleep by the pool and
    burned because my brother left me sleeping Ohch I remeber
    that cause it hurt so bad and I had to were tube tops the
    rest of the vacation and lots of suncreen frist noxema to calm the burn nAGHTS BECAUSE IT WAS AN ORANGE GOVE
    AND OUR CAT GOT LOST AND CAME BACK WITH AN ADOPTIVE
    FAMILY mOM TIED THE CAT ON THE LEASH AND IT STILL GOT
    OUT OF IT’S COLLOR POOR CAT BUT THE CAT WAS SMARTER
    THAN US HOT HUMANS THE RED TENT WAS SO HOT IT WOULD HAVE DIED IF IT DIDN’T GET OFF THE LEASH. iT WAS
    AUGEST

    camping at mountian with my husband and I did
    come face to face with a black bear ON MY WAY going to the bathroom
    from my campsite no iT WANTED BERRIES i REALLY NEEDED
    THE BATHROOM EVEN IF IT WAS PRIMITIVE THIS WAS VERY
    DIFFERENT FROM WHAT i HAD GROWN UP WITH AND OUR
    TENT WAS SMALL AND THE GROUND WAS VERY HARD AND
    LOTS OF ANIMIALS . i THOUGHT DON’T SHOW YOU ARE SCARED JUST LIKE DOGS THEY WON’T ATTACK. tHEY CAN
    SMELL FEAR SO i TALKED CALMLY TO THE BEAR SAID iD GIVE
    IT THE THROUGHWAY ON THE TRAIL AND i STOOD STILL
    IT LEFT ME ALONE DID NOT ATTACK ME i HATED BEING SO
    REALLY IN THE WOODS BUT i DID SEE SO MANY MORE ANIMAILS THAN THE SUDO CAMPING EXPERIENCE

    tHE rV’S UP BY THE CREATURE COMFORT STATION WERE BAD
    ABOUT HOW THEY HANDLED THE GARBAGE AND THE BEAR
    DID EAT SOME BERRIES BUT WALKED TOWARDS THE rv’S
    i HAD TO WAIT AND WATCH IT GOT FAR ENOUGH FROM ME
    AND i WALKED QUICKLY TO THE RESTROOM AND DID MY
    BUISNEES AND HOPED i WOULD NOT SEE A BEAR AGAIN
    tHAT WAS MY LAST CAMPING EXPERIENCE IN A WHILE

    mY FAVORITE SMELL IS COFFEE ON A CAMFIRE AND i HATE
    COFFE BUT IT SMELLS SO GOOD i WILL HAVE TO HAVE SOME
    ON THE CAMPFIRE i DO LIKE IT MORE THAN i DID WHEN i WAS A KID

    oN THAT TRIP IT DID RAIN WE RAN INTO A TORNADO THE NEXT MORNING MORAL OF THAT STORY RENT A CAR WITH
    A WORKING RADIO OURS DIDN’T WORK RIGHT OR BRING
    A PORTABLE RADIO wE DROVE RIGHT INTO THE STORM
    WE WERE JUST AHEAD BY SECONDS ON THE EXPRESSWAY
    GOING TO CAPE COD

    i COULD BARLY SEE AND WAS PLEADING TO FIND A HOTEL
    FOR THE STORM DROVE IN THIS WEATHER WORRIED

    THE MOUNTIAN WAS OUR STOP OVER
    TO CUT COSTS. i LIKE TO SLEEP THROUGH THE NIGHT HUBBY WOKE ME UP SAYING A STORM WAS COMMING i THOUGHT HE WAS CRAZY HE HAD SUPER HEARING AND ONLY GOT INTO THE CAR AND IT STARTED RAINING HE HAD
    THE ONLY PONTCHO SO HE HAD TO BREAK UP OUR CAMP
    SITE. tHUNDER AND LIGHTING AND i WAS WORRID BUT
    HE GOT IN JUST BEFORE IT GOT BAD.

    i AM THE ONE DOING THE PACKING THIS TIME SO ANY HELP
    THERE IS A STORE FIVE MILES AWAY BUT i TEND TO OVERPACK THE CRAP i DON’T NEED AND UNDER PACK THE
    ESSENTIALS SO ANY ADVISE WOULD BE GOOD.

  5. DIANE says:

    OH iD LIKE TO AVOID THE BEARS IF POSSIBLE AND DEAR
    TICKS

    SO DO i JUST SPRAY DEET ON ALL OF US YEARS AGO WE
    JUST USED SO MUCH OF THAT STUFF AS KIDS i RECALL
    MY DAD SPRAYING THAT CRAP ALL OVER US.

    i HERD THERE IS A NEW SPRAY THAT ISN’T SLIMMY

    hATS RIGHT TO KEEP TICKS OUT OF OUR HEADS AND SUN
    OFF TOO.

  6. I don’t believe I have seen this described in such a way before. You really have clarified this for me. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

