Grandma’s socks

Grandma's socks

My paternal grandmother (the one who taught me to knit) gave me these socks last time I saw her (along with a bunch of other stuff she’d knitted over the years) and I just found them again in my dresser last weekend.

I’ve never worn them, for fear of wearing them thin, but I recently realized that a knitter wants his or her things to be USED and WORN!! So I’m going to wear them often this winter … while I’m knitting.

This entry was posted in Family, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Grandma’s socks

  1. Nora says:

    They’re lovely – and very special. Enjoy!

  2. Janet says:

    Do you look at them differently now that you’re a sock knitter? What I see are socks that are VERY well done.

  3. Rich says:

    Janet. What you wrote is a clasic understatement. Vanessa’s grandmother knitted three, count ’em three, Aran Isle comforters. She knitted one and was going to give it to me. Then my older brother got married, so the comforter went to him. She knitted the second one, and my younger sister got married, so she got that one. I asked my mother when I was going to get mine. She said that I’d probably get it when I got married. I outlasted her and got mine before I got married. Still have it over 34 years later.

Leave a Reply

