Sometimes in life…

As I recall, this is how Ditka (pronounced Dikka) (former coach of the World Champion ’85 Chicago Bears, for those of you who don’t know) would start answering tough questions in the locker room. (Or at least that’s how I remember it. I grew up with the ’85 Bears and watching the Mike Ditka Show every Sunday night, and I was younger then, so my memory is a little fuzzy, but this phrase sticks in my head.) Ditka would get some technical question about how the Bears played or how the other team played, and he would wax philosophical about how sometimes in life, things just don’t go as planned. And as I was thinking of what to write about this knitting project that just IS NOT going as planned, I kept coming back to those 3 words… Sometimes in life.

Sometimes in life, no matter how much you want to knit something (EZ’s February Baby Sweater) or how fast you need to get it done (friend’s baby is due in 2 weeks), and no matter how well the pattern is written (gotta love EZ’s brevity) or how beautifully it’s crafted (I’ve heard the construction is genius), and no matter how wonderful the yarn is, or how much you want to prove to yourself that you can knit something that you didn’t think you could (lace), it just ain’t gonna happen. At least not right away.

But, the recipient’s imminent birth is a good motivator, and I am determined to complete this. I just may have to be a little patient with this one. And stop counting all the rows I’ve frogged. And find a quiet place. And just go with it. Because sometimes in life, that’s all you can do.

This entry was posted in Knitting, WIPs. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sometimes in life…

  1. Rich says:

    “Lay on Macduff, and damn’d be him that first cries, ‘Hold, enough!'”
    Macbeth’s final words in the play by William Shakespeare

  2. funessa says:

    I like how I’m quoting Mike Ditka and you’re quoting Shakespeare.

  3. Rich says:

    That is funny because I’ll bet that you know more about Shakespeare than I do about football. After all, I am an IU grad and football isn’t exactly THE game in Bloomington, IN. Now, if you want to talk basketball… talk to Grandma.

Leave a Reply

