Um, hi, can I get this in my size?

A while ago, before I even started knitting up the February Baby Sweater for my friend’s baby, I had decided that I wanted one for MYSELF. Something about it just looked so familiar.

I tried Googling to see if anyone had made this in an adult size, but I couldn’t find anything (!), so I posted a question to the Crazy for Knitting group on Flickr and found this. It’s definitely cute, but I just don’t know if it’s ME (it’s very lacey).

Then I realized I was just going to have to knit one myself so I’d have a better idea of how to adapt it for my sizing. I cast on a couple weeks ago, and after a few fits and starts (more about that in a later post), I finally got to a point yesterday where where I could see what it would look like knitted up. And damn! It was cute! So I decided to take some photos. It was cold out, so I rifled through my sweater drawer and actually found the sweater that inspired this whole ordeal in the first place!!!

I hope to replace this someday.

I was honestly surprised. And delighted when I found this. I truly, honestly thought I had given it away last year, once I realized it no longer fit me (I give away clothes ALL THE TIME these days because of this). But no, I held onto it, stubbornly convinced that I could just knit up another one.

Detail

Because isn’t it cute??? (It’s JCrew, in case you’re interested, and I got it at an outlet mall a couple years ago. I have Ebayed for this thing more times than I’d like to admit. But I can’t find it anywhere.)
Once I saw it, I immediately noticed the similarities between the two designs. They have almost the EXACT SAME lace pattern. They’re just reversed. One starts with garter stitch, then goes into the lace. And the other starts with the lace pattern, and then goes into stockinette for the body.

Now that I’ve found this old sweater, and am halfway through the new one, I’m even more determined to knit up a new one. And I’ve actually started a list of other sweaters that I once loved that I now want to knit up anew. Or sweaters I’ve never owned, but have always wanted. And even though I wouldn’t really consider myself a “sweater knitter,” I’m definitely a sweater WEARER, and I’m inspired by this new challenge, to my skill and creativity.

This entry was posted in FOs, Knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Um, hi, can I get this in my size?

  1. LOL! Absolutely freakin’ cute!! @ FBS

    What yarn are you using??

  2. Gramma says:

    Nessie: I am so proud of you. How can U just find a sweater and then start knitting one right away. You are something else. You start and finish your knitting so quick. It would take me that long to decide if it was easy to knit. That doesn’t seem to bother you tho’. That is just wonderful. Love U, Gramma

  3. Gramma says:

    Whatever you’re doing is just great. Anyway it seems you put in so much time on samples and pretty soon you’re showing the finished product. I meant to tell you that putting the pieces together looks pretty neat. That’s the beauty of a hand knit article. I noticed the picture of the red sweater finished and it looks great to me. Keep up the good work. I’m so glad you enjoy knitting as much as I used to.
    Love U, Gramma

  4. Pingback: Another February “Adult” Sweater! « V’s Blog

Leave a Reply

