Happy Socktoberfest!

Happy Socktoberfest!!!

I’m gonna take this opportunity to show off my super cute cute cute cute Monkeys, because even though I didn’t knit them in October, I wore them for the first time yesterday!!!

Monkeys - In Action!

(I like how this was my “in action” shot – and I was totally lounging on my deck. Nice, eh?)

Here are some more gratuitous shots, since I lerv them so much.

Monkey!

On Green

I’m participating in Socktoberfest this year, because with my new KnitPicks sock needles, I NOW LOVE KNITTING SOCKS!!! (I no longer have to worry about breaking my needles!)

I still don’t really consider myself a “sock knitter” per se, because I am a sloooooooow sock knitter (A sock a week? Ha! How about a sock a month?!), but I love having them on the needles. We actually just went to LA this past weekend and I was rushing around before we left trying to figure out which project to bring, and I was first going to bring one of my many scarves I’ve started, but I finally decided to start some socks because they really are the Perfect Portable Project (TM).

I started the New Year’s Day pattern using my new Socks that Rock yarn in the January One colorway. (And um, yah, I didn’t even notice the coincidence…. I am brain dead lately.)

But aren’t you swooning??? I love this pattern so, so much! It’s very similar to the Monkeys, but with no purling! And when you’re cabling without a cable needle, it knits up FAST!

Why aren't more people knitting this sock???

New Year's Day socks :: STR (January One)

So, my goal is to knit 2 pairs of socks this month. One for me, and one for my mom. But really, there’s no pressure. Because Lolly is super liberal with her Socktoberfest rules!!!

The festival starts on October 1st, but you can definitely start on your socks now! You do not have to finish your socks by October 31st either…

Here goes nothing! 🙂

This entry was posted in FOs, Knitting, WIPs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy Socktoberfest!

  1. Janet says:

    OMG! I didn’t catch that either (so that makes me just as brain dead).

    I love the idea of the “no purling” on the NYD socks (you are so speaking my language).

    Welcome back from L.A.! Did you see Britney? 😉

  2. Terri says:

    LOVE the new socks. I am going back now to check out the pattern.

  3. Kate says:

    Once you learn how to knit them Magic Loop and 2 at a time, you’ll REALLY love sock knitting. I feel like I have to have socks going all the time.

  4. Rich Mateyko says:

    I was going to tell you that you need to get out into the sun, but then I remembered where you live.
    Dad

  5. Nora says:

    I love the colors you’re using lately!

Leave a Reply

