FOs: One took 2 hours, the other took 2 years

After the the major upset of my beloved little New Year’s Day sock not fitting, I decided I needed a quick fix and knit up this quick little hat for my friend Bryan on Saturday night. Good thing, too, because it was about the ONLY productive thing I did on Saturday. (Besides take 2 naps.)

2-Hour Hat

Bryan is an awesome friend and totally appreciates my knitting (partly because he is confounded by it, I think) and so I love knitting for him, because he is soooo appreciative. He’s one of the few non-knitters I’ll knit for. We stayed up a bit too late one night a couple weeks ago and sketched out some plans for some Life Aquatic-inspired hats, so I’ll be casting on for those soon, as soon as I can track down some Mmmmmalabrigo… (Sadly, none of the yarn shops by me carry it!).

So! I also got my first cross-stitch project framed last week! I had originally intended this to be a Christmas present for “Tank” (that’s what we’re calling him now, btw… either that or “Mr T”) TWO YEARS AGO, but once I was finished I got so freaked out by the high cost of framing it that it just languished in our spare room — unframed and unloved. Until now! (I scored a 60% off coupon for Jo-Ann Framing in the newspaper… but it still cost an arm & a leg. I don’t get it. It’s just wood, glass, and paper, right?? What exactly are we paying for?) 

Anyway! Isn’t it cute???

(And 100% true!)

Damn right

I had actually seen this in a Better Homes & Garden magazine and ordered if THE NEXT DAY. I had never cross-stitched before, but this was just soooo cute (and true!) that I knew I had to have it. It was pretty fun to do, and didn’t take all that long (couple months?), and I really only screwed up once (won’t show you where).

But knitting is still my true love. I mean, an FO in 2 hours? Can’t beat that.

This entry was posted in FOs, Knitting, She's Crafty. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to FOs: One took 2 hours, the other took 2 years

  1. Rich Mateyko says:

    Hi Ness: Go out and by a mitre saw made by Ryobi, Makita or some other brand of equal quality. Then buy a glass cutter and some new glass. Then use your glass cutter to cut a straight line on your new piece of glass. Since glass is a liquid, new pieces are necessary because older pieces become too brittle. When you’ve mastered the technique of cutting glass to fit, you can buy some lumber and practice cutting 45 degree angles, to size so that you have a rectangle or square which has four 90 degree coners. Then you can buy a router and trim a bit off the back of the frame to hold the glass which you’ve cut to size. Then, simply place the glass in the frame and hold it in place with glazer’s triangles. You’ll be very well pleased with your work. (Tim might already know how to do all this stuff. If he does, make sure you watch him at work.) It will take a while to learn how to do all of this, but doing so will give you plenty of time to understand why you have to pay so much for a frame. I’ve had two frames custom made and paid dearly for them. However, they are very good quality and I treasure the photos I have mounted in them.
    Dad

  2. Kate says:

    Hey I tagged you for a meme on my blog. Check it out. 🙂

  3. Rob says:

    So what are you saying?, I’m not an awsome enough friend to get you to knit that sweater you’ve been promising me for a couple years now?

Leave a Reply

