Oh what a difference a button makes!

I finally got around to sewing the buttons on my FBS. And I knit up some baby booties to match!

I am sooo pleased with how these came out – I almost can’t bear to give them away. But I also can’t wait to see the little peapod modeling them (granted, it will probably be another year or two before she fits into any of this).

Saartje's Booties

I love the bootie pattern, but it was a little tricky. Not the knitting so much, but the finishing! I had read that other people cast on a few extra stitches and then knit in buttonholes at the end of the straps, but I couldn’t figure out how to do this, so I just looped up some yarn and wove in the ends. Not sure how sturdy they’ll be, but booties are probably more for show than anything.

(Another bootie mod: I cast on an extra stitch for the straps and then k2tog to cinch up the gap where the strap started.)

Pattern details: Saartje’s Baby Bootees in Knit Picks Swish Superwash (Indigo Heather), size 6 needles

This entry was posted in FOs, Knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Oh what a difference a button makes!

  1. Rich Mateyko says:

    Ness:
    That’s a beautiful sweater and pair of booties. Don’t worry about the straps. You’re right, at that age, the baby kicks them off nearly as soon as they’re put on. Nice work.
    Dad

  2. Nora says:

    Beautiful little set. Perfect colour. Perfect buttons. 🙂

  3. Laura says:

    That is such precious set. I love the color you picked.
    You are amazing!

  4. Those both look great (I love the buttons on the sweater), I’ve been seeing that EZ cardigan quite a few places recently and may have to give it a go — some friends have babies on the way or I could just make my daughter something for a change! I will take note of your post about it, and make sure I read through what other people did before I start I think, I get so little time for knitting it really pays to be prepared!

    I just made a pair of those booties for a friend’s blessingway/baby shower. I really wanted to make something for the baby and managed to get them done over a couple of days (not enough sleep though…). They’re so cute, definitely using this pattern again!

    I did put the buttonhole in the end of the strap so I didn’t have to spend time figuring out how to make it with the yarn tails. (I did K1, slip stitch, k1, psso and then on the next row a yo in that same place, right at the end of the straps), I did the strap parts a bit differently from the pattern in other ways too though (if you’re interested I described my modifications where I posted the project at Ravelry).

  5. nonaKnits says:

    EZ’a FBS is one of my favorites. I love the buttons you chose, they’re perfect.

Leave a Reply

