Low-impact packaging

(Can’t you tell a knitter wrapped this?)

Growing up my mom always meticulously opened her gifts, using scissors to slice off the tape at the seams, gently folding it when she was done, and then she’d re-use that wrapping paper for years and years. My brother and I revolted by tearing into our presents and shredding every last bit of wrapping paper.

But now, I’m starting to see her point. There is SO MUCH waste, in the wrapping paper and packaging alone. So this year, we’re trying to use less and waste less. We made our own wrapping paper, packaged multiple presents together, and used what I like to call “low-impact” packaging.

Then we went to T’s p’s house and I ooooh’d and awwww’d over all their cute, new, shiny wrapping paper and tore into all my presents. It really is more fun that way. πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Low-impact packaging

  1. Megs says:

    Hey!

    I just wanted to say thank you for making such a cool blog! 2 years ago I got a “Knitting for Idiots” book and was frustrated with it. I came across your blog & it’s inspired me to give it another shot. Just bought a knitting DVD on eBay :0) I hope that one day I’ll be able to make stuff as cool as yours!

    Thanks for inspiring me!
    Megs

  2. Janet says:

    First of all, you got bokeh! πŸ™‚ Love the low-impact idea too – you should go the Japanese route and use fabric to wrap your gifts!

Leave a Reply

