Blocked and DONE!

I can finally, finally, finally call my stripey raglan sweater an FO! I blocked it Thursday night and it was dry by Saturday, and then it was finally sunny on Sunday so we took advantage of the weather and snapped a few shots.

Honestly, though, I’m conflicted about what to write about this sweater. On the one hand, I feel like this is all I’ve been talking (and writing) about for the past 2 months (just ask T – he’ll concur), so maybe I should move on to something else??? But on the other hand, I feel like there is still so much to share. So, I’ll write one last post and call it DONE. (After all, why should the blogging about the sweater be any different than the knitting of it? It just never ends.)

Now, despite this being a “simple top-down raglan”, I still managed to mess it all up learn a lot from the experience. First, and most importantly, I learned that I should FIX MISTAKES as soon as I encounter them. It may slow up the process a bit, but it takes a lot less time than carrying on stubbornly and having to go back and frog later. If I had done this, I wouldn’t have had to rip out half the sweater and start over. (But I also wouldn’t have found out that if you use a smaller needle for the waist shaping, it really does work and isn’t even noticeable!)

I also had a bit of trouble with the collar, so after about 9 failed attempts (you think I’m kidding — I’m not), I realized I should maybe take a second and actually try to follow the pattern. What happened is, I had originally started the sweater with this light pink stripe, and halfway through the sweater I realized I hadn’t used it anywhere else, nor did I want to.

So I ripped out the stripe, picked up stitches, and knit back UP to the collar. Then, I must’ve blacked out. Because I don’t remember what I did to knit up something as horrid as this:

EVENTUALLY, I sat down and wrote out the original instructions, then wrote them in reverse and changed the increases to decreases. An hour later, I had this. Finally. (This was pre-cast-off, so it still looks kinda wonky.)

(I also had to change the raglan decreases a bit to omit a stitch to more closely replicate the raglan increases. I still don’t quite understand it, but I was knitting 2 sts between my increases going down, but then when I was going back the other way I had to knit only 1 st between my increases to get it to look similar. Check it out — can you tell?)

Finally, when it was all done, I jumped the gun and wore the thing to work the day I cast off, because I wasn’t sure if it was long enough and I wanted to give it a road test (and because I’m a spaz with zero patience). But I really should’ve waited until I had washed and blocked it. All day I was freaking out that the waist ribbing was too short and that the whole thing was just too bulky, but after blocking, the ribbing flattened out and it even gained a bit of length.

All in all, I love it. I love the fact that I MADE it, I DESIGNED it, and NO ONE ELSE has a sweater like it. This is what I love about knitting. It can give a creatively-challenged person like me that ability to make something no one else has. In fact, I just bought the yarn for my next sweater over the weekend!!! I’m still not sure what shape it’s going to be (raglan or yoke?) but it’s going to be big and bulky, so hopefully it will knit up quick!

This entry was posted in FOs, Knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blocked and DONE!

  1. Jennifer says:

    I’m glad to see someone other than me uses the word “wonky…”

    This looks great! You should be proud of your design…now, go write it down for the rest of us!

    😉

  2. Gramma says:

    Nessie: The finished product is just beautiful. You should be so proud to wear such an original sweater and not another one like it. Even if one were to use the pattern, if you write it out, it can’t be a duplicate. Your finishing is just great. I used to love to do the finishing because that’s what really brings out the beauty of your work. Keep it up, you never seem to amaze me with y0ur patience and originality.
    Love U,
    Gramma

Leave a Reply

