This blog post took me longer to write than any other I’ve ever written, and at this point, I can’t think of a clever title. Move along.

I had lunch with a friend on Sunday (we’d made the date before either of us realized it was the day of The Big Game — oops!) and I realized that morning that I didn’t have anything to knit! I’d just finished my Baby Bobbi Bear and I hadn’t received the yarn for my next project, so to tide myself over, I decided I needed a small, but rewarding, project. I kept being drawn to this Socks that Rock Lightweight that I’ve had in my stash since last year. (The colourway is January One.)

I had originally thought these were going to be New Year’s Day socks, but the resulting fabric, with all those cables, didn’t stretch enough to fit over my feet. I thought about re-doing them, but I didn’t keep track of which needle size I’d used and I didn’t really have the patience to experiment. (I’ll knit up some New Year’s Days some other day, perhaps with a yarn someone has used before?) Then I thought about knitting up a Chevron scarf, but really, I’m just not a Chevron scarf-type-of-gal. After some pondering (and Ravelry-ing) I realized I wanted some basic socks with this beautifully variegated yarn.

Now the HARD part. Which needle size to use? I woke up early on Sunday, made a cup of (now decaf) coffee, and set to making a swatch. I started with the recommended needle size (2.25mm) and after an hour I had a swatch big enough for an accurate measurement, and I was getting 8 sts/in. Then I started freaking out. See, the Yarn Harlot’s basic sock recipe has you cast on 64 sts, but she gets 7.5 sts/in. I didn’t want to go up a needle size (because I couldn’t – I don’t have 2.5mm’s) and I wasn’t sure how many MORE stitches to cast on to get a good fit. (I didn’t want these to be too loose, especially since they were just stockinette.) After a morning of fussing and fretting, I consulted the very gracious, and helpful, Janet of Twisted Knitter, who convinced me to just go with the prescribed 64 sts.

And it worked!

PBR Me, ASAP

And look! No pooling! I was really worried about the pooling because my friend Janelle tried knitting up some Jaywalkers with some Socks That Rock – Lightweight last year and it was pooling something awful. A quick search on Flickr resulted in some similar results, but luckily, mine are pool-free so far.

Apparently 64 really is the magic number!

That's one helluva heel

Janet was also kind enough to nominate me for an award, and now it’s my turn to repay the favor. Here are some of the blogs that make my day.

youmakemydayaward.jpg

3191 (Mornings) :: Beautiful photos by two friends on each coast. Their synchonicity is amazing sometimes. Here are a few of my faves. (They also make me think that living in the country might not be all that bad.)

A Cold Bright Day :: One of the few blogs I read that’s written by a fellow Pacific Northwesterner (why does it seems all the knitters I know live in Texas?). Stella lives in Portland and is as witty and crafty as I want to be when I grow up.

dogged. :: Every time I click on Ashley’s blog, I see something else I want to make. And she takes beautiful photos of her work. *Swoon*

heyawesome! :: Nicole is a super talented, and witty, clothing designer (she knits and sews her own clothes!).  It seems every time I click on her blog, she’s cranked out something even more fabulous than the last. That girl is fierce.

Kelp! :: Kelly knits and sews and oh yah, cares for the cutest stray kitty you’ve ever seen (and his name is B2, how cute is that?).

Twisted Knitter :: I wish I could hang out with Janet in real life. She’s amazing. She gives me encouragement when I need it or advice when I seek it. I swear she’s a Yarn Whisperer.

six one seven :: I’m a new reader to this blog, but I’m already loving it. Free cookie recipes, meticulous knitting notes, and gorgeous photography… this blog’s got it ALL!

TECHknitting :: This is not a personal blog, which is probably why I love it even MORE. This woman has been knitting for 25 years and just decided to start a blog to share some of her knitting wisdom. For free. With incredibly simple, and clear, diagrams to help illustrate what she’s talking about. I visit this site any time I want to fix a mistake in my knitting or just learn something new. Go there now!

You Just Gotta Keep Knittin‘ :: This blog is written by the friend of a friend. She has 4 kids with one on the way, and she still has time to knit and crochet some of the cutest little things. And she posts frequently, which inspires me to try and do the same.

v e r y p i n k :: Staci is super talented and hilarious (and she lives in Texas…. why are all the knitters in Texas???). Her Fast-Topic-Changing Fridays are not to be missed.

This entry was posted in Knitting, WIPs. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to This blog post took me longer to write than any other I’ve ever written, and at this point, I can’t think of a clever title. Move along.

  1. Janet says:

    *whisper* Move to Texas. Bring Trixie. And Peet’s.

    Thank you so much!! You did totally make my day again! I know that it seems like a big “lovefest” but I love finding new blogs to read — and I also nodded my head several times at the list of bloggers you and I both enjoy.

    Yarn Whisperer. Can I trademark that? 🙂

  2. Stella says:

    Thank You!! (PNW Represent.)

    Your sock is so pretty it’s making me seriously reconsider my No Variegated STR Ever clause. And that’s saying something.

  3. Katie says:

    The colorway of your yarn is just delicious! I love Socks That Rock. I’ve found that if I get the lightweight sock yarn and knit it on #1 needles I don’t get pooling problems – but I’ve never tried anything else.

  4. michelle says:

    Thanks, my friend’s friend! I feel totally honored! 😀 Been doing more sewing than knitting this week, but I’ll get back on the horsey here pretty soon. In the interest of truthiness– I have two kids at home, two stepkids who don’t live here (well, one during the summer) & one on the way. It’s enough! Knitting rocks because it fits in around the edges & doesn’t require heavy machinery.

  5. kelp! says:

    Thanks, you! Good thing that B2 was a stray, because Trixie is definitely the cutest cat around!

    I do have some bad news, though – B2 passed away last week. It happened out of nowhere and we are totally bummed. He was such a sweet, sweet cat.

  6. s t a c i says:

    Thank you so much! You’ve made my day by saying that I made yours! 🙂

  7. Nicole says:

    aww! Tanks! You made my day!

  8. TECHknitter says:

    Thank you for the award and the kind words!

Leave a Reply

