SURPRISE!!!

I turned 30 this past Sunday and I am still REELING from this weekend’s festivities. I had such a spectacularly crappy week at work last week (a good work friend quit, I essentially report to my boyfriend now, and my crappy attitude in useless meetings has not changed (and someone seriously needs a vacation)) but on Monday T emailed me and told me not to make any plans for Friday night, because he had a surprise for me!!!! I was a bit thrown off, because we were already planning a big birthday party blowout for Saturday night, but I was super excited about the surprise and also just thankful for the distraction during an otherwise AW-FUL week.

I immediately started asking him a ton of questions and trying to guess what it was, but after the first day he told me he was only going to give me one clue each day. So my first clue was that it was going to last from about 8:00 til midnight, my second clue was that it involved tickets, my third clue was that it would require a certain type of outfit, and so up until here I totally thought we were going to the symphony. But then my fourth clue was that another word for the activity could mean “to injure.” I didn’t really have time to think about this on Friday, but I was still totally thinking it was the symphony and I was actually getting a little stressed about how I was going to stay awake until midnight (especially since I haven’t been drinking caffeine lately, and again, I was having a pretty crappy week) so he ended up telling me that he was taking me to dinner at Wild Ginger and then to see “Mame” at the beautiful Fifth Avenue Theatre. (Here’s a craptastic shot I took of the theatre ceiling with my cameraphone… it really does not do this place justice. The whole theatre is so beautiful.)

I had actually asked T if he had wanted to see “Mame” the week before, but it never even occurred to me that he’d get tickets. (I am dense.) So the show was great and I was super touched at his thoughtfulness, and as we walked out of the theatre he told me he also wanted to take me to this little bar I’d never been to. I was pretty much ready to go home at this point, but I went anyway. We walked up and it was this CHEESY touristy English pub and I was all, “Why are we going HERE?” and he was all “Well, I haven’t been here in a couple years… it may have changed since then.” So we agreed to just go in and have one drink and then call it a night. We walked in and started looking around for a table when he suggested sitting with this couple. I started to say, “Why would we want to sit with –” when I realized it was my friend Van and her fiancee, Trevor. From L.A.

I. Freaked. Out.

Van and I had actually been IM’ing each other the week before and  talking about how much fun it would be if they could come up for the weekend, especially since it was a holiday weekend and all, but then she said she checked ticket prices and they were just too expensive. (I found out later the scheme was already underway at this point and she’d already bought tickets.) I was literally shaking for twenty minutes. I just couldn’t believe it.

And then. My friend Brian showed up. (He also flew in from L.A.)

The rest of the weekend was all kinds of awesome. We stayed up too late, drank too much, slept in too late, ate too much, napped for too long, played a little Wii, drank some more, and then partied like we used to (who am I kidding? I never partied like this in college). This was by far the best birthday ever, and I am still so touched by their thoughtfulness.

Sadly, in the time it’s taken me to write this blog post, I’ve received some sad news from several friends (when it rains, it pours, I guess) and it just makes me appreciate this gesture even more. So please, hug your friends and family tight tonight. And tell them how much you love them.


This entry was posted in Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SURPRISE!!!

  1. Stella says:

    Oh, wow. How awesome is that?? Happy belated birthday!!

  2. mike says:

    awww that’s nice.

    i hope my 30th is half as nice as yours. totally envious about the lou malnati’s.

    also, picture #2? those people are about to here the v-bomber drop one.

  3. Brianna says:

    Hey! Iam glad you had fun! we look forward to seeing you Next weekend! Iam sure bryan could use the break (and me too)!

Leave a Reply

