Just in time for spring!

Just in time to celebrate spring, I have a boatload of big bulky knits to show off!

First up, I finally got my hands on some Mmmmalabrigo (just in time to bid adieu to Malabrigo March!) and I was originally going to knit up a quick rollbrim hat for me (using my standard recipe). But once I knit it up, I didn’t like the color! So I gifted it to T. (He requested the nubbin.)

I loved working with the yarn, and T raved about how warm and soft it was, so I went on Ravelry and bought some for myself in a dark maroon color (seen here, modeled by the lovely Miss Tipsy, who was a very generous gift from Suzie):

But T knew that I wanted that hat for an upcoming camping trip, and I probably wouldn’t get the yarn from Ravelry in time to make myself a hat for the trip, so HE went out and bought me a hank of Misti Alpaca chunky!

Can you stand it???

I was a little slow getting this one started, because I’ve had fit issues with hats in the past, and I didn’t know how this one would wear as a rollbrim hat, with it being alpaca and all, and I wasn’t sure how much it would stretch over time. So, thereI was, the morning we were leaving for camping, scouring Ravelry trying to see what kinds of hats other Ravelers had made with this yarn when I came across the 18 Seconds To Sunrise Hat. And I knew that was it.

At first I was a little worried that it might actually be too big (you cast on 72 sts, and the pattern says it fits an “averagely big” head) but after the first cable row I finally realized something. Cables eat up stretchiness. Had I realized this earlier, I might’ve thrown another purl stitch in between the cables, but as it is, it fits my head about perfectly. (And I’ve accepted the fact I’m going to live with “hat hair” if I want to keep my ears warm.) (And it will stretch a bit over time.)

Even though this pattern did not call for this yarn, I absolutely love it in the alpaca, AND there is just enough in one skein of the Misti Alpaca to make one of these hats (even with the wider and longer earflaps I made). I had this much left when all was said and done.

Guess that answers the pom question. 🙂

And last but not least! I have one more FO to show off! I don’t think I ever blogged about this, but this scarf has become my MOST FAVORITE SCARF EVER. And the best part is, it was a super quick knit! I love it so much, and I’ve gotten so many compliments on it, that I decided to write it up and offer it as a free “pattern.” (I feel kinda goofy calling this thing a pattern… I really don’t consider myself a “designer,” but this was the easiest way to share this with others.)

Woolly Boolly Scarf
ravdownload.jpg

 

I originally knit this up for my mom last Christmas, when I was behind the 8-ball and needed a quick knit. I went to Have Ewe Any Wool in Elmhurst, IL (which has the nicest shop owner ever) and found this bulky boucle yarn. It was a little spendy, but I knew one skein was all I needed. I originally started a basic garter stitch scarf, when I realized I just do NOT like the look of garter stitch! So I turned it diagonally and was struck at how different it looked. I fiddled a bit with the width and ended up with something that I did NOT want to give away. So I knit one for myself with some yarn from my stash that I’d purchased at Blue Moon Fiber Arts’ annual sale last year.

I hope you all enjoy it as much as I do!

Happy spring! LOL!

This entry was posted in FOs, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just in time for spring!

  1. Alice says:

    I love nubbins! Especially Mmmalabrigo nubbins… 😉

    I really like the diagonal garter stitch in your scarf. Very cute!

  2. Rachel-Marie says:

    beautiful knits! Happy spring to you!!

Leave a Reply

