I’m such a Martha! (And I didn’t even know it)

I recently read in Knitting Rules that Stephanie referred to an old neighbor as a “Martha” because she was totally organized. Now, I’m no Martha, but I do have all my yarn, books, patterns, and other knitting paraphernalia organized out of necessity more than anything. Or, at least, I have a SYSTEM, which admittedly needs to be tended to and tidied up more than I can probably get to it. But at least there IS a system.

It all started with my pattern binders. When I first started knitting I downloaded A LOT of free patterns from the internet (I was ALWAYS searching for more patterns – I think I spent more time surfing than actually knitting!) and before long, I had more than I knew what to do with. So I went to PaperZone and picked up some cute binders and sleeves and made myself some pattern binders, just like they have in the yarn stores.

I can be just a little anal sometimes.

Then my friend Heather made me this gorgeous needle holder for my straight needles. (And I was so struck by the beauty and functionality of it, I made one for my friend Abby – it makes a great gift!)

(I would say this is a simple project, but it totally isn’t! (Or at least, it wasn’t for me, a totally novice sewer (seamstress? see, I don’t even know)

But basically you can buy pre-quilted fabric (or use old drapes, as my grandmother did) and some wide ribbon and you can sew one of these in an evening. The trouble is, working with the thicker fabric (my sewing machine nearly choked) and sewing on a straight line. If you can master that, though, you’re good to go!)

Once I had this, I realized I needed a storage solution for my circs, and I didn’t like anything else I’d seen out there. So I went back to PaperZone (don’t you love repurposing materials from other crafts for knitting? I think that may be the sign of one of the signs of a true knitter) and picked up yet another binder and some large Ziploc-type bags. I punched holes in them, shoved my circs in, and voila! No more mess and I can ALWAYS find my circs when I need them (if I remember to put them back when I’m done and don’t leave them in an old knitting bag somewhere)

Finally, I needed a way to store all my yarn! Luckily I stumbled on a HUGE Rubbermaid tote set at Costco one day and it just perfectly fits into my “knitting bookcase.”

One of the things I like most about this yarn storage system is that it seals up the yarn and protects it from light and moths, AND it really limits the amount of yarn I can have on hand at any given time. I do not allow myself to keep any more than can fit in this cabinet.

Which brings me to my little yarn giveaway! I have recently purchased a lot of yarn for a couple of sweaters I have planned, and I can no longer fit all the yarn in my Rubbermaid tubs. In honor of sticking to this system, I am giving away ALL the following yarn for free. Please email me if you’re interested in any or all of it!

(Please click the photo for more info on the yarn.)

Thank you!

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to I’m such a Martha! (And I didn’t even know it)

  1. Janet says:

    WOW – I love your organization system! I’ve got my patterns organized in a binder but beyond that, I’m nowhere NEAR as organized as you!

    Meanwhile, I am eyeing the Malabrigo laceweight! Is it spoken for? ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. kc says:

    is it sad I am only coming out of lurking for YARN? yes, maybe. yes, totally. but hi! (aspenglow at flickr, you know me!) I am eyeing the sea wool… if it is available, I would loove it! I love your organization. I am not so good at it. sigh.

  3. rachel m says:

    omg. i would die for the knittery dark reds yarn! what do i have to do to get it??

  4. WOW! You are super organized! Love it!!

  5. ME! Seawool!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ but shipping might be an issue… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  6. ok, now that i’ve calmed down a bit, just wanted to say what beautiful organization!!! i wish i had the patience to organize stuff like that!

  7. Nicole says:

    I’m not going to ask for anything (unless you want to surprise me later with something that nobody else wants… erm, anything except fun fur because I don’t know how I’d use that) because I imagine shipping to Canada is expensive and I don’t have Paypal. But I did want to comment because that’s a brilliant way of storing circular needles.

    I’m a disorganized knitter. I’m so glad my brother’s fiancรฉe made me a needle roll last Christmas – otherwise I’d be hopeless.

  8. mike says:

    you got good photos

  9. Terri says:

    I can offer the Fortissima sock yarn a good home. No shipping needed, I am in Edmonds.

  10. jessica says:

    I would love the Knittery dark reds. That’s beautiful. I can pay for shipping via paypal. Wish I would have known earlier, I was just in your neck of the woods this weekend for a beautiful sunny vacation. (Trying to get my boyfriend to agree to move there with me :)) Let me know if it’s still available! Thanks!

  11. jessica says:

    oh, sorry, i see that it’s gone. oh well. great organizational skills, btw!

  12. bussing says:

    Bussing says : I absolutely agree with this !

  13. Mary says:

    Boy, am I impressed! Is your yarn cabinet from IKEA? I love it!

  14. Andrea says:

    Beautiful yarns! Do you still have any left? If so I’d be happy to take something off your hands. ๐Ÿ™‚

    And thanks for the great organization ideas!

  15. Rachel says:

    Hi! I would love love love the malabrigo laceweight or the gloss!! The other lace weight/fingering weight too, for that matter! I’d be happy to figure out shipping with you.

    Thanks!!
    Rachel

Leave a Reply

