Gramma’s shawl

I really should’ve written this post weeks ago, to fully capture my love of this project. (Note to self: If you ever feel the strong urge to blog about knitting but then don’t because you don’t want to ruin the surprise for someone – WRITE IT ANYWAY and then just save it as a draft.)

Anywho. A while ago my grandmother (the one who taught me how to knit) asked me for a shawl to pull over her shoulders in the evenings. This request meant so much to me. This woman taught me to knit, encouraged me to knit, and knit so many beautiful things for me…. I was so honored that she was now asking ME to knit something for HER. (She can no longer knit because of arthritis.)

I knew exactly what it would be as soon as she asked – the Shetland Triangle shawl by Evelyn Clark. I had seen it all over Flickr and blogs, and it struck a chord in me every time I saw it. Then I heard about how “easy” it was and I knew it would be a perfect introduction to lace knitting (I had, admittedly, attempted lace knitting a couple times previously with spectacularly disastrous results).

A glimpse by you.

I started the shawl on the first day of our ferry ride home from Alaska and I finished about 2 weeks later (it probably would’ve been sooner if there wasn’t so much debate about how long it should be – and even now, I still think it could’ve been longer?).

Shetland Triangle Shawl by you.

I ended up knitting 4 extra repeats and it still ended up being the exact dimensions of the shawl in the book.

And the stitch pattern? Beautiful!Shetland Triangle by you.

I was actually GLAD when I realized it had to be longer because that meant I could knit MORE of it.

Blocked and done! by you.

I spent over an hour wrapping it up and photographing it – and it was then that I realized I REALLY didn’t want to give this one up!

Gift tag by you.

I’ll definitely be knitting more Shetland Triangles!

This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Gramma’s shawl

  1. Melissa says:

    Ooh, this is beautiful! Really lovely!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Gorgeous Vanessa! The pix and shawl are flawless! 😉

  3. michelle says:

    Absolutely gorgeous! I adore that lace pattern. 🙂 Would love to see a pic of grandma wearing it.

  4. Terri says:

    So pretty! I have been wanting to do the Shetland Lace, maybe an Edmonds Kind of Stitch & Bitch could do a KAL?

  5. Pingback: Well, I tried! « V’s Blog

  6. rosebel says:

    I’ts a beautiful shawl, the pattern is lovely. I agree with you I think it needed to be longer. Maybe that gives you a reason to knit another and you did say it was a pleasure to make.
    I knitted several baby shawls and often considered crafting a wrap for myself – maybe I will.

Leave a Reply

