A quickie… when done correctly

In an effort to do some stash busting last week, I made some fingerless gloves that ended up taking me twice as long to knit because I am an idiot.

But that’s what I LOVE about knitting. Really.

I’ve been knitting for almost 6 years (obsessively for about 2) and I am still learning new things. I just read a quote the other day by Ann and Kay from Mason-Dixon Knitting that proves this:

There it is, the secret of knitting. The longer you knit, the more fun it gets.

Even when you’re screwing up!

See, what happened is, I was knitting the Thuja-Inspired fingerless gloves and I got to the part where it says to “use waste yarn and knit 8 stitches at the beginning of the round.” I then used waste yarn to CAST ON 8 NEW stitches at the beginning of the round and then knit those 8 stitches with the main yarn.

And I knew it was wrong, but I just couldn’t figure out what she was talking about. So I set it down. For 2 days.

Then, finally, I read through it again and realized – hey, she just means to knit those 8 stitches with a piece of waste yarn. Duh.

So, in case you are as inept as I am prone to over-analysis when it comes to reading directions as I am and want an easy peasy way to do fingerless gloves (without a thumb gusset), here’s a quick tutorial.

Step 1: Knit a tube.

Step 2: At the beginning of the round where you decide you want your thumb, knit the next 8 stitches with a piece of scrap yarn. Then slide those stitches back onto the left needle and re-knit them with your main yarn. (It will look weird because you will have an extra row on these 8 stitches.)

Knit 8 sts with scrap yarn by you.

Step 3: Knit the remainder of the glove, and then go back and carefully remove the scrap yarn.

Remove scrap yarn by you.

Step 4: Pick up the remaining stitches and pick up a few on either side of the hole as well.

Pick up stitches by you.

Step 5: Knit up the stitches, staying in the pattern as desired.

 

Knit thumb stitches by you.

Step 6: Put glove on and pinch your cat’s head.

Pinch your head [365.115] by you.

This entry was posted in FOs, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A quickie… when done correctly

  1. kelp says:

    OMG I love that photo of you crushing Trixie’s head!

    (I’m clearly a bit behind on my bloglines. Fooey)

  2. I love your explanation and sense of humor! I have not seen this technique before, probably because I am fairly new to knitting myself.

Leave a Reply

