The List

It seems that every year around this time, I sit down and make a list of the things I want to knit in the coming months.

The struggle within [365.132] by you.

I have this vision that I’ll spend every evening snuggled on the couch, next to the fire, knitting speedily away on my projects, and that by the end of the winter I’ll have a whole new sweater wardrobe. Or I’ll have knitted all my Christmas gifts! But that never happens. (And it’s not for my lack of trying — check out my knitting!)

Some things will take longer than expected, some things will never come to fruition, or some things will become something else entirely. Take, for instance, the small Shetland Triangle shawl I was going to make for me. I actually cast on for it last Thursday while in the airport, waiting to fly out for my friend Van’s wedding. (Doesn’t she make a beautiful bride?!)

The happy couple by you.

(The reception was so! much! fun!)

Shots! by you.

I was able to knit a couple of repeats on the shawl on the plane, but then I didn’t knit all weekend, and when I pulled it out of my bag in the airport on Sunday, I just wasn’t feeling it. It wasn’t knitting up as quickly as the first one had, and you couldn’t see the design as noticeably. I don’t know if this is because the yarn was darker? But I also think it had something to do with the fact that the See Jayne Knits yarn is softer, compared to the Colinette Jitterbug, which is more tightly wound and shows off (IMO) the cables and stitch patterns better. (Although I don’t have any scientific proof for this… I’ll have to consult The Knitters Book of Yarn and see if I’m correct in my theory.)

I frogged the shawl in the airport and decided they’d become a pair of socks instead. I couldn’t decide if I wanted to knit with a size 2.25 or 2.5 mm needle (I know, my life is so exciting!) and I refused to swatch, so I shoved the whole thing into my bag and went to sleep. 🙂 It wasn’t until a couple of days later that I realized I could cast on more stitches with the smaller needle and still have a densely knit sock that fit great.

Two days later, stuck at home with a head cold and ~ voila!

I watched the entire debate. And finished my sock! [365.134] by you.

(Please excuse the craptastic photo quality… it was late and I was resigned to the couch.)

I cast on 68 stitches and knit this one nearly entirely from heart (I just had to consult the Handy Book of Patterns once to figure out the heel stitches). I knit it up in plain stockinette because as much as I love knitting up patterned socks, I have fit issues with them, and these will be worn under my new boots (see below), so no one will see them anyway!

Darnit! [365.126] by you.

(Now I just need to figure out how to darn my old ones!)

I’ll consult The List as soon as I finish the next one to figure out what to knit next, but I’m also open to knitting whatever the yarn tells me it wants to become.

This entry was posted in Friends, Knitting, WIPs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

