Happy Socktober!

I’ve been in a bit of a knitting slump lately, and I think it all started last month when I lost the second skein of See Jayne Knit sock yarn for this pair of socks I was working on. I’d just returned from Toronto for a friend’s wedding and I could not find that yarn for the life of me! I searched high and low, and even called the hotel we’d stayed at, but after several chats with the VERY FRIENDLY security officer in Lost & Found, I realized it was a goner. I was already midway through my second sock and I really didn’t want to frog it, so I grabbed a skein of Lorna’s Laces (from a single sock I hadn’t knit the mate for yet) and knit up a Frankensock.

Frankensock by you.

The gauge matched perfectly, but the Lorna’s Laces is significantly softer.

My latest "pair" of socks by you.

The good news is, I now have a mate for that Lorna’s Laces sock I knit back in April! 🙂

The bright side by you.

And I got some of my knitting mojo back!

I finally cast on for the Hemlock Ring Blanket yesterday with some Berroco Ultra Alpaca. It took me forever to decide on a yarn and color, but last week I just got sick of deciding and picked up 3 skeins at Village Yarn and Tea. At first I wasn’t sure about the floofiness of the alpaca and the heathery-ness of the color with the lace pattern, but so far I am very pleased! And after a day of knitting, I’m already into the feather and fan section. This is partly due to the fact that I had nothing else to do yesterday, and that the first 47 rows go by VERY quickly. These next 40 feather and fan rows, though… well, that’ll be a different story! But at least I’m knitting again!

Woohoo! by you.

This entry was posted in FOs, Knitting, WIPs. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Socktober!

  1. kelp! says:

    All of your current knitting projects are purple. I approve!

Leave a Reply

