I’m not gonna take it anymore!

OK I know I just blogged YESTERDAY and not only that, but I posted THIS SAME PHOTO in that blog post, but I didn’t notice something about this photo until I pulled these socks on this morning.

Can you see it?

The bright side by you.

That’s right: Pooling (AKA, the Knitter’s Nemesis). The sock on the left has stripes (or, pooling) and the sock on the right doesn’t. (The sock on the left was knit with 68 sts and the sock on the right with 64. )

I knew that I knit these socks up differently, and it’s interesting to see how stitch count affects the patterning in the sock, but this is exactly why I’m done knitting with variegated yarns! You can never tell how the variegation is going to play out in the final knitted fabric. I still have some self-striping sock yarn in my stash, but from now on, it’s all solids or semi-solids for me.

And just to help celebrate/reinforce this new way of thinking, I picked up these skeins of Louet Gems from Ravelry a couple weeks ago. 🙂

Louet Gems by you.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m not gonna take it anymore!

  1. Janet says:

    Argh! Life is too short to put up with the frustration of pooling and I think that the Louet (in that gorgeous color) is just what you need.

  2. michelle says:

    I feel a revolution coming on. (You & Sherril!) LOL.

  3. 😦 I totally know what you mean. Sometimes I’m ok with the pooling, other times, grrrrrr

Leave a Reply

