My Ravelry Donation Challenge

OK, so admittedly I was a little late to the Ravelry Love Fest. I’ve been a member since July, 2007 and I have definitely used it to catalog all my current projects and stash and even get ideas for new projects and stash, but beyond that I didn’t really use it. I never really ventured over to the forums or groups or discussion boards…. Until I started a Stitch ‘n Bitch last July and started planning meetups and chatting with other members.
And then recently I started thinking about all the people I’ve told about Ravelry, all the times I’ve thought, “I’ll just look that up on Ravelry” to get ideas for a yarn, or help with a pattern, or just a distraction from work? And what if I donated $1 for every time I’ve used this free service? And then challenged others to do the same!?

Here are some ideas.

Please consider donating $1 if you’ve ever….

~ found a free pattern on Ravelry and then knit it up?
~ found a pattern from an old book or magazine you had and then knit it up?
~ bought yarn on Ravelry?
~ sold yarn on Ravelry?
~ bought a book on Ravelry?
~ sold a book on Ravelry?
~ bought a pattern on Ravelry?
~ sold a pattern on Ravelry?
~ designed a project because of Ravelry?
~ gotten help with a pattern on Ravelry?
~ found just the yarn you were looking for on Ravelry?
~ made friends on Ravelry?
~ reconnected with someone on Ravelry?
~ laughed because of something you read in a forum on Ravelry?
~ cried because of something you read in a forum on Ravelry?
~ were introduced to a new book, yarn, pattern, designer, WAY OF THINKING because of Ravelry?
~ made a friend in person (not just online) from Ravelry?
~ found a subsitutue yarn for a pattern on Ravelry?
~ found a dye lot you were out of on Ravelry?
~ found a discontinuted yarn you’ve been searching for on Ravelry?

…More?

(My current donation according to this list is $19.)

Even if everybody just donated $5 or $10, just think of how much money we could raise!

(More info here, on the For the Love of Ravelry bboard.)

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Ravelry Donation Challenge

  1. michelle says:

    Wasted time at work on Ravelry– heh. Don’t make me tally that whole list– I’ll break the bank! Great idea, though. 🙂 We started our local SNB through Rav, too & it’s shaping up to be a completely awesome group! And I met my best irl knitting friend who lives in the same town as me through Rav, too.

Leave a Reply

