It’s a wrap!

Literally.

I finished the Hemlock Ring Blanket for my Gramma in December. Not quite in time for Christmas, but since I was pretty lax about the whole holiday in general, I didn’t really sweat it. I got an email from her this past weekend (she’s so hip!) letting me know she got it and so now it’s safe to put on The Blog.

I didn’t measure it before I sent it, but I’m thinking my grandmother will use this more as a wrap than a lap blanket. It fit perfectly on my shoulders and I almost did not want to give it away! I knit it up in Berroco Ultra Alpaca (50% alpaca, 50% wool) and it is so soft and light and WARM. I’m really pleased with how the heathery look of the yarn shows off the detail of the pattern.

Hemlock Ring Blanket by you.

I had a long list of things I wanted to include in my blog post about this pattern, but I don’t think I can say anything different than what everyone else has said, other than this was NOT a quick knit for me. I actually got kind of bored with it and set it down for longer than I should have, but then my grandmother had some health issues and that lit the fire under my tail to WRAP IT UP!

Hemlock Ring Blanket by you.

The one thing I did differently, though, was the bindoff. I found an alternate bindoff on Ravelry that did not involve turning (thank god) but still produces the same effect (but requires you to carry WAY more stitches on your needles – thankfully I was using a 60″ circ!). I also only did 3 yo’s instead of the 5 it called for because I didn’t like the “holey” look of the edge.

Hemlock Ring Blanket by you.

All in all, I was very pleased with how it turned out – except the blocking. I wet blocked it and THEN steam blocked it, but this was as good as it got. I actually didn’t think it would be that noticeable, but even my grandmother asked me if I had a tip for blocking it. Um, it’s already blocked…? I think I might have only knit 3 instead of 4 knit rows between pattern rows, and so it’s not lying (laying?) as flat as it should, and my bindoff row might have been a little too tight, so that might be causing it to pucker too? Ah well. Something to remember for the next one!

This entry was posted in FOs, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s a wrap!

  1. Terri says:

    Very pretty. Congratulations on the finish.

  2. Jennifer says:

    This blanket was a nightmare to block. Here’s a picture of my blocking in progress. In the morning I got a spray bottle and wet it, then with my iron on the wool setting, ironed it, then let it dry for the rest of the day. I repeated this procedure about 3 times before I could pick up a plate and it wouldn’t bunch up.
    Maybe this helps, but I’m not sure if your Gramma wants to go through all that trouble.

  3. misplacedpom says:

    Ohh this looks beautiful! ultra alpaca is one of my all time favourites.

    My hemlock puckered like that too even after a harsh wet and steam block (though I did extended the chart to 95 rows of the feather and fan). I also wear mine as a cape when I’m cold. I shove a very fat plastic crochet hook (or a pen, whichever is closer) through the holes and walk around like my own private superhero :o)

  4. It came out so nicely and I like you did it in Berroco Ultra Alpaca!! Glad Hip Gramma loves it! ;o)

Leave a Reply

