The mouse in my pocket

I started a knitting group (I actually call it a “stitch and bitch”) in my little town last summer (with the help of one of my blog readers and Ravelry) and I’ve been kinda quiet about it because I actually belong to another stitch and bitch that I helped start about 4 years ago, and I didn’t want those girls to think I had turned against them or gotten sick of them. Because it’s not that at all. It’s just that, I love to knit! And I love talking about knitting! And I love an excuse to get together with others and knit. And so while I was at first a little afraid, or I don’t know, worried, to talk about it with my other SNB, I now just feel that it’s another part of me and I no longer feel like I have to hide it or talk around it.

So! Last week at my new SNB we had a yarn exchange (a belated holiday yarn exchange, since the weather was so crummy in December we couldn’t ever find a good time to get together!) and while at first I was a little skeptical (since yarn is such a personal choice), it ended up being really fun. We did it “white elephant” style where everyone draws a number and then can either open a new package or steal from someone else. I wound up going first, and my yarn was stolen from my hands THREE times! First it was a skein of KnitPicks alpaca laceweight, then Mmmmalabrigo laceweight, then Mmmmalabrigo chunky (I almost cried after that one), but I ended up opening the last package which was this gorgeous skein of Noro Blossom. The colors are beautiful and the yarn is sooo soft! I’m thinking cowl?

Noro Blossom by you.

Noro Blossom

I also got the recipe for what might possibly be the easiest. bread. ever. We cooked up it up last weekend with a bottle of homebrew from a friend. T and I were both astounded at how quick and easy it was. And so delicious! We sliced it up thick and made it into garlic bread the other night and I thought I was going to die. It’s also delicious served warm with butter and jam. I cannot wait to make this again.

Beer bread! by you.

Hello, I am delicious.

Beer Bread
* 1 (12 fluid ounce) can or bottle beer [we used a bottle of homebrew, but I’ve heard any beer works]
* 3 cups self-rising flour
* 3 tablespoons white sugar [I used 2T]

DIRECTIONS
1. In a large bowl, mix together the sugar and flour. Add beer and continue to mix, first using a wooden spoon, then your hands. Batter will be sticky. Pour into a 9 x 5 inch greased loaf pan.
2. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees ) for 50 for 60 minutes. The top will be crunchy, and the insides will be soft.
[If you don’t have self-rising flour, then for each cup of all-purpose flour, add 1-1/2 teaspoons of baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon of salt.] You can use white or wheat flour and different kinds of beers make it taste different.

I’m so lucky to be part of two awesome SNB’s.

This entry was posted in Domesticity, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The mouse in my pocket

  1. michelle says:

    Okay, about that yarn pic– help a photography dummy out. How do you get that focussed foreground/fuzzy background look? I can adjust everything with this new camera of mine, but I don’t know what to do! Is it appeture?

  2. Terri says:

    You were a good sport about having your yarn stolen, over and over.

    I too meet with another group to knit, though not regularly. Cassie is part of that group. I have not told them about our stitch & bitch becasue the groups are so different. I do not want them to mingle.

    As soon as you said you turned the beer bread into garlic I began to swoon. Doin’ it this weekend.

  3. Aunt Marlene says:

    Vanessa, your knitting projects are awesome. Gramma is so very proud of you! You are indeed her granddaughter.

    Love that recipe for the Beer Bread. I have to admit, my first reaction was “what a waste of good beer” but then I continued reading and was quite impressed. Gee, maybe that’s something I could even do. But then, um, what’s a loaf pan? ha!

    Love you lots.

  4. flakaroni says:

    Beer bread is one of my favorite things on earth. I am definitely going to try this. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

