Gramma’s Afghan

All this talk about that Hemlock Ring Blanket I made (which, really, is just a monotonous series of yo’s and k2tog’s and ssk’s once you get past the inner flower part) has had me thinking about the cabled afghan that my Gramma knit many years ago. Now THAT is a masterpiece! I’d been wanting to take some photos of it to post to Ravelry and the blog, but I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. Then last night I was clicking through the photos on our camera card and found that T had snapped a couple pics while I was curled up on the couch (konked out, natch) with it, and Trixie, the other night. Awww.

Sleepy time by you.

I iz sleepy.

Detail by you.

Even the reverse is beautiful.

Eventually I’ll get around to taking more, and better, photos, but I just had to share these, since they were so touching.

One of these days I’ll also get around to “unventing” the pattern.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gramma’s Afghan

  1. Aunt Marlene says:

    Honey, you’re right. It is indeed a masterpiece. In her hayday, that lady could knit. And you’re following right in her footsteps. You’re a doll. Love you.

  2. michelle says:

    Were you a knitter when you received it? Did you understand then what an astounding piece of art that blanket is? It’s beautiful!

  3. You are so right about Hem! Haha! Can’t wait to see yours

    But OH MY GOODNESS!! That cable blanket by grandma is divine!!!!!

Leave a Reply

