I knitted something ugly also

I didn’t want Misplacedpom to feel bad, so I went ahead and knitted something ugly also. 🙂

My fugly mittens by you.

Actually, I had really high hopes for these mittens. I found the colorway after finishing up my Kolenya marathon in December, and I knew I had to knit just. one. more. pair. for me. I didn’t take a photo of the hank (Noro Kureyon,  #217 I believe) before I knitted it, but it looked like this beautiful meld of grey, brown, and purple . Some of my favorite colors.

And here’s why I hate NORO. Because when it’s good, it is very, very good. But when it’s bad…? It’s hideous.

My fugly mittens by you.

Once I got the skeins (hanks? balls?) home, I actually put off knitting them for a couple weeks because I wanted to find the PERFECT pattern for this yarn. I had originally considered Elizabeth Zimmerman’s mitered mitts, but then decided against them because the tips were just too pointy.

My fugly mittens by you.

And then I went and knitted my own pointy-tipped mittens. (I actually knit and frogged and re-knit this tip THREE TIMES before just giving up and resigning to the fact that a pointy-tipped mitten is not the worst thing in the world. And I really suck at math.)

My fugly mittens by you.

The thumbs are also a little wonky. In the original pattern, the second row after picking up the thumb stitches has you decrease every other stitch. That looks fine in the fingerless mitt version, but it ended up making the thumb looking kinda… well, wonky. Next time I’d either skip that set of decreases altogether, or do fewer increases in the gusset. But actually, it doesn’t look that bad, and again, a wonky thumb is not the worst thing in the world.

I really struggled finishing these (it is HARD to knit something you hate) but my other project isn’t going any better.

Riiiiiiiip! by you.

That said, I’m about to head out the door to buy some yarn for some new! projects! I’m so giddy I can hardly stand it. It’ll be so nice to get something new on the sticks.

Yarn: Noro Kureyon
Pattern: Kolenyas [.pdf]
More details on Ravelry.

This entry was posted in FOs, Knitting, WIPs. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I knitted something ugly also

  1. Throwing some good knitting juju your way!!! 🙂

  2. Terri says:

    I do not think the mittens are ugly. Sometimes a subtley colored mitten is just right. Especially when you are wearing a bright sweater, or a red shawl.

    Speaking of red shawls…I am so sorry. I think it needs a time out. Maybe it has that seasonal depression disorder and will feel better in the summer.

  3. Janet says:

    Functional trumps ugly! You can still wear them, right? But that is an odd Noro colorway – usually, even the odd combos have a stripe of something unexpected and bright.

    I do think you’re due for something wonderful to knit — something you enjoy! I can’t wait to see what you buy!

  4. misplacedpom says:

    Sleep inducing beats migraine inducing every day!

  5. I must say, that I could not agree with you in 100%, but that’s just my opinion, which could be wrong.
    p.s. You have a very good template for your blog. Where did you find it?

Leave a Reply

