Slippers for my sweetie

I finally finished T’s slippers and got around to taking FO photos of them in daylight the other day. I actually finished them when he was in the middle of fighting off a pretty nasty cold last weekend, but then they took THREE DAYS to dry after felting (thanks, moist PacNW winters!).
Done! by you.

Pre-felting

FO! by you.

Post-felting

I am suuuuper pleased with how these turned out. I love the colors (which I blatantly copied from a friend) and I love the finished look of the contrasting cuffs and bumpers. They really look pulled together.

FO! by you.

He could be a footwear model, no?

I used Cascade 220 instead of the Wool Pak called for in the pattern and I think you can definitely tell a difference between these and the pair I made for me out of Wool Pak a couple years ago. These are not as nubby or dense and feel like they’ll come apart faster. AND I also totally slacked off sewing the soles together (because I thought they’d felt together more in the wash) so I had to go back and whip stitch the soles together again. (Note to self: Next time sew each sole shut separately, THEN sew the soles together.)

Note to self. by you.

Do not be lazy like me

One modification I made for the better was adding a couple short rows to the back heels (see Ravelry for more info). The pattern instructs you on how to create a higher cuff, but after looking at hundreds of slippers on Ravelry we decided that the back cuff just wasn’t HIGH ENOUGH. This was the first time I really felt empowered to make a change to a pattern. I must have ruminated about it for half a day and even then ripped it out five times, but I really felt it was worth it to get the look and feel I wanted.

Higher cuffs by you.

Huzzah!

I’m so glad I finally knit these for T, and I feel awful that I waited so long to do so. Once you get past the first 7 rows (the soles), this really is a straightforward pattern. And it ranks up there as one of my faves – I just love the idea of being to knit something so cute and functional.

Pattern: Fiber Trends Felted Clogs (AC-33)
Yarn: Cascade 220 in 8400 (grey) and 8393 (blue)
More details on Ravelry.

This entry was posted in FOs, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slippers for my sweetie

  1. Heather says:

    I think you may have finally inspired me to get on the slipper bandwagon that our SnB has been on since its inception. These are perfect!

Leave a Reply

