What I carry :: What I use

This little “knitting meme” has been going around Flickr lately and I thought I’d share it here too.

I took some photos of what I carry in my knitting notions bag and then what I actually use regularly. It was interesting to see how many things I carry around for sentimental value or “just in case.” I tease T all the time about being such a Boy Scout (he wasn’t really) and being prepared for ANYTHING all the time. But when it comes to knitting, I’m the same way.

What I carry by you.

What I carry. (Click for more details.)

And then I pared it down to what I actually use.

What I use by you.

What I use.

knitting notions bag – From Daiso (a Japanese dollar store). I had been searching for a durable, clear bag. I love being able to see where everything is.

needle gauge/rule – From KnitPicks. This is the only needle gauge I’ve found that recognizes that there are TWO size 1’s and TWO size 2 needles.

small pouch – From splityarn. I love her stuff. I carry all my knitting store punch cards in here. I could never keep track of them before, and I never had them when I needed them, so now they all go in here, this goes in my knitting bag, and I always have them with me. (I also have a separate splityarn pouch in my purse for all my other gift/membership cards.)

scissors – They’re blunt-tipped so I can take them on planes.

tape measure – My first knitting splurge. It’ssocute!

Chibi needles –  For weaving ends in.

row counter – I love the “kacha kacha” sound of this. It actually helps me remember to use it. (I also am a big fan of writing down ticks on a sheet of paper.)

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What I carry :: What I use

  1. Terri says:

    I am so lame! Without knowing me, you could look at what I carry as notions and know that I am not a stasher. I will post pictures on the blog.

  2. Jeremy says:

    Totally random but I see you have the tin from those french raspberry candies. Those are so good! I used to be addicted to those things. It’s been too many years since I’ve tasted those. I’m going to look for them the next time I go shopping. I hope they still sell them around here…

  3. Terri says:

    That is so pretty! I bought the pattern too. I have some handspun seawool looking for a project.

Leave a Reply

