Sew crazy!

I went a little crazy with the sewing yesterday. It was my “last day of work” but they didn’t make us work, and I just wanted to lose myself in some sewing. (Plus, the weather looked like this…)

The view at the midpoint of our bike ride. (Also what's UP with this weather?!) by you.

The view from Richmond Beach Saltwater Park

I finished up this skirt I was making, even though I knew I wasn’t going to LOVE it. I just don’t want to start leaving WIP’s around,  otherwise I’ll NEVER finish them. Plus, I’m still new at sewing, so I really need the practice.

Modified Burda 8090 by you.

This is a modified Burda 8090. I tried it on halfway through and realized the butt pleats were AWFUL (and it wasn’t fitting at all) so I ripped out the back pleats and trimmed down the back piece to match the A-Line skirt pattern from Built By Wendy, sewed in some darts, and sewed it back to the front. I then had to create my own facing piece for the back, and it turned out all kinds of awesome.

I got really lazy with the finishing, though, because I knew I wasn’t going to be wearing it much.

Shortcuts by you.

Used pinking shears instead of tucking in 1/4" and sewing

Once I was done with that I STILL wanted to sew, so I made some lunge pants from Amy Butler’s “In Stitches.” This is the 3rd time I’ve made them, and I think all that practice has finally paid off. I sewed them up in a few hours and was able to wear them to bed that night!

Run, Fat Cat, Run! by you.

Run, Fat Cat, Run!!!

This entry was posted in Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sew crazy!

  1. Heather says:

    So, if Knitting and Sewing get in a fight for who’s your favorite, who wins? Knitting because she’s your first-born, or sewing because she’s the new baby? I know, I know, You’re all My Favorites. (a book we own)

  2. Jason says:

    those are some sweet Zubaz

Leave a Reply

