FO: Modified Cowl Neck Pullover

I just had to pop in to show off my most favoritest FO, a modified cowl neck pullover. I saw it hanging in my new favorite yarn store and had to knit it up IMMEDIATELY. But instead of knitting it out of Malabrigo Worsted, like the one hanging in the shop (which pills something awful), I splurged on some Dream in Color Classy (the colorway is Cocoa Kiss). It was heaven from the first few stitches (especially since I was knitting the size small (gasp!)).

I actually did run into a bit of trouble changing over from one skein to another. You could totally totally tell where I switched from one skein to the next, but I ripped back and cut in with a different skein, that more closely matched the first one. I then went back to the yarn store and traded in some less-variegated skeins for some more-variegated skeins (there is no dye lot for Dream in Color!), and once I got that sorted out it was smooth sailing.

Before:

After:

There is so much I love about this sweater… the color is gorgeous and rich, the yarn is soft and smooshy, and the fit is perfect. I finally trusted my measurements (instead of just knitting the Large, because that’s what I usually wear!) and felt confident to tweak the pattern to fit my body shape. This meant knitting a few more increase rows before dividing for the sleeves, knitting longer sleeves, knitting a more fitted torso with decrease & increases to fit my curves, and knitting 2×2 cuffs instead of the 1×1 that the pattern called for.

The fit was pretty good before blocking:

And damn near perfect after blocking (the yarn relaxed a lot, and the collar is a lot floppier now, the sleeves lengthened, and the body fits more closely now).

I’ve already worn this several times. And I can’t wait to wear it when we close on our new house! (More on that later… :))

This entry was posted in FOs, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to FO: Modified Cowl Neck Pullover

  1. Melissa says:

    Oh, it’s fantastic!

  2. Emilee says:

    Good call swapping out the yarn. It looks fantastic!

  3. michelle says:

    Looks great on you. 🙂 Yeah, that DiC is quirky stuff. I’m knitting with it right now & alternating skeins. What a pain. New house, huh? Sounds like the long silence has been productive.

  4. Pingback: See, this is how it usually goes « V’s Blog

Leave a Reply

