Homemade laundry detergent

I posted about this on Facebook Saturday night, and then on Sunday I was talking on the phone with a friend* and the conversation went a little like this:

Her: “Hey I saw you made laundry detergent last night.”
Me: “Yah.”
Her: “Yah, I did that a couple years ago.”
Me: “But did you blog about it?”
Her:”No.”
Me: “Then it didn’t happen.”

So I give you … homemade laundry detergent. I used a very simple recipe that was recommended to me by another friend (a mother of three). 1c washing soda, 1c borax, 1 bar of Ivory soap (grated, or run through food process0r).

It yields one big Ball jar’s worth (32oz, or 4cups) and you use 2T max in a load. T ran the numbers this afternoon, and it ends up costing $.12/load. NOT BAD.

I’ve already done 4 loads this weekend and I love it. The clothes smell great, and they’re SUPER soft and lofty. The towels are floofy, and T’s dress shirts are not wrinkly (read: I don’t have to iron them!!!).

*This friend did say that she made hers with Fels-Naptha soap instead of Ivory, because it works better on stains.

This entry was posted in Domesticity. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homemade laundry detergent

  1. Melissa says:

    So cool! Thanks for posting – I’m definitely going to try this!

  2. funessa says:

    You are so welcome! Thanks for the comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

