What I’ll be doing today

I recently ripped out my Ingenue because it just wasn’t working. The yarn was too thin for the pattern (they recently renamed it “MadTosh DK” instead of “MadTosh worsted”), the neck wasn’t wide enough, and I’m still not sure about the yarn color. I haven’t decided what the next metamorphosis of the yarn will be, but I REALLY want to knit another sweater.

Problem is — I knew what I wanted to knit, but I just couldn’t find the right pattern. I wanted something like this Blue Sky Alpacas Scoop Neck Vest, but with sleeves, and I did not want to have to do any math! Luckily I just found Mary Jane from Twist Collective and it is PERFECT. (OK, it’s not perfect… I’m not going to do the stitch detailing, and I might do less puffy sleeves, and much more of the ribbing, but at least the general shape is perfect. And it has sleeves!)

I already knew what yarn I wanted to use… but tracking it down (especially in the colorway I wanted) was rather tricky. Yesterday it was finally delivered to my greedy little hands and I cast on last night!

A sweater awaits

Filatura di Crosa Zara - 1746

Now I just have to figure out what kind of shoulder increases I want to use. It’s been a while since I knit a sweater – I’d forgotten how to knit paired increases! But I’m loving having something on the needles again! I’m planning to work on this for most of the day today, so hopefully I’ll make some good progress!

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What I’ll be doing today

  1. carolyn says:

    i usually use M1R and M1L. 🙂
    that color is lovely.

  2. funessa says:

    Thanks!!! That’s what I ended up doing. (Great minds think alike.)

  3. Janet says:

    I’m so glad you’re back in the saddle with a new project! I love Mary Jane – and it’s funny how I really never gave it a second look in Twist . . . it’s much more appealing in a color other than white.

  4. Aleen says:

    I just lift the bar between the stitches and knit through the back. I know it technically had a paired one that twisted the opposite way but I find it invisible enough not too worry about pairing it.

Leave a Reply

